That Was Painlessly Productive…and I saved $20

Standard

Workout – 50 minutes stairmaster.  moderate/high intensity.  I’m going to do it.  I’m going to go to the track tonight and run.  you can’t stop me (the lacrosse kids might stop me, but I’m hopeful that they haven’t overtaken the track tonight) It may not be wise.  It may not be beneficial to anything training related.  but I’m going to do it.  and I’m going to have my husband and three kids with me, so it may not even be a productive run, but something will happen.  and my little heart will be singing happy running songs again.  for tonight.  the main reason I pick the track is because it is really easy on the legs.  like super easy.  so much cushion.  and I will wear my mizuno waverider 15’s to make it even more lovely.  definitely staying off the roads for now.

I’ve had a very productive day so far.  let me be clear on one thing.  my definition of productive has changed drastically since I have had children.  I consider any day a productive success if it includes a workout, a shower, a healthilicious and delicious breakfast for the kids (because all other meals tend to go down the crapper as the day goes on, I can generally get them to eat a good breakfast, and snacks.  case in point today – lunch may have been Target popcorn and tcby froyo.  don’t judge), getting laundry done, and utilizing some of the patience I have left for the kids to keep everyone happy.  we are on day 5 of vacation.  the patient tank is getting low. 

I get extra productivity points and my day gets bumped into the super-productive category for things like the following:

+1 point, taking 3 kids to renew my license at AAA.  no need to go to DMV.  this was so much less painful than I thought it would be.  Luke actually sat in the stroller.  no children jumped in the picture.  and the picture didn’t come out too badly.  and I didn’t have to pay the $20 late fee because I actually did it on time.  that counts for another +1 productivity point.

Which one is the new one?  (I was pregnant with #1 in the old one, 6 years ago, I was only 24!!!  I retained every ounce of fluid that entered my body, hence the puffy face.  it only got worse.  not my most shining moment of beauty)

iphone pics 686

iphone pics 687

+3 points, for not only taking a shower but for washing the hair, drying the hair and applying makeup.  I had a AAA photo shoot today, of course I had to look my best.

+15 points, dragging the kids into Target and coming out having spent less than $200, and having avoided the dollar trap on the way in.  I love Target.  where I can get almond milk for $2.99 as well as little frocks for mother and child.  fantastic.  I need to start working on my spring/summer wardrobe.  please don’t comment on your opinion of that little blouse to the right unless you think it’s adorable and trendy.  I’m well aware my fashion skills are lacking.  but I happened to like this one.  whether it’s in style or not, I don’t really care. A for effort.

iphone pics 683 

 

+1 point, hitting up TCBY for frozen yogurt on the way home to meet Jeannie.  We actually missed each other, but she came back to chat for a minute.  until the 6 kids between the two of us started losing it in the closet sized TCBY.  I kid not.  I think most walk in closets are bigger than this TCBY.  thanks for meeting up for a minute, Jeannie!!!  So nice to actually meet you!

iphone pics 678

that child is far too happy to be eating his froyo.  good times luke.

iphone pics 679

sorry anna.  you didn’t make the cut for this pic.  we’ll catch ya next time.  I think my A girl is sad because I only let her get 15 toppings this time instead of the usual 18.  and it cost me more than I spent at Target.

+500 points, getting it all done before noon.  it’s like there’s a whole ‘nother day left to do so much more productively fun things.

Looks like I fall into the super-productive category for today.  what is my reward?  do it all again tomorrow.  try to rack up the points again.

I’m back in the “there is so much to do around this house, I don’t know where to begin mindset”.  which brings me back to, “just pick one thing to do and if that’s all that gets done – fabulous” frame of mind.  and it makes for a pretty productive week. 

I’m going to make a liar out of myself and talk about the recovery topic that I mentioned in my post yesterday, because I’m doing so much of it lately and I think it’s important, even if you are not injured.  the one I said I probably wouldn’t do until next week, or next month, or anytime soon.  well, it’s that productive kind of day, so here’s a little tidbit about a little TLC for your running body.  courtesy of this little magazine that ended up in my mailbox…

iphone pics 664

if they are trying to sucker me into subscribing to some trail version of their mag, it may have worked.  I enjoyed reading this. I found a lot of good info.  my husband is of the trail running breed – he does the 100 mile trail ultra’s and I have a 50 mile trail race on my agenda for the fall.  I should get acquainted with trail lingo.

This particular article from Runner’s World Trail caught my eye – for trail runners and road runners alike – and I was happy to see that I’ve been doing much of what it talks about…

iphone pics 666

Here is what they say to do to RECOVER the right way:

1.  Compress yourself.  HELLO!  I love to do this.  Here is what they say, “after a workout, metabolic waste begins to pool in your feet and your legs, causing swelling and soreness.  Squeeze the harmful fluids from your extremities by throwing on some compression socks…”  perfect. 

2. Be Kneady.  use a tiger tail or foam roller to massage the muscles.  it helps oxygen rich blood to flow to those areas to help damaged tissue heal faster. 

3. Step it Up.  Particular more to trail runners, hop on the stairmaster to help flush waste from certain muscles that are used and abused more so in trail running.  I also think the stairmaster is a great crosstraining exercise for running in general.  I used it a lot last fall.

4. Don’t stretch, do yoga.  I found this interesting.  They say yoga is great because it engages certain muscles while stretching others.  Static stretching does not produce such reductions in soreness as dynamic stretching or yoga would.   I did a lot of the P90X yoga last fall. I loved it and felt great.

5. Refuel with a Shake.  They say you have a 30 minute window after a run to shut down the stress responses of exercise.  This can be done by refueling with a protein/carb snack.  Something like almond/rice milk with protein powder, dark chocolate powder, dried oats and berries is a great shake.  In addition to sipping on liquids for 3 hours after a run.  Water with a pinch of salt and lemon as you need sodium to properly help your body absorb the water.  Perfect.  I love shakes.  I like to use Plant Fusion protein powder.  It’s awesome.

6. Take a cold bath.  it is believed to decrease inflammation by causing the muscles to contract, which pumps out metabolic waste.  the article says to avoid a hot tub as the hot water will only inflame the muscles more making you sorer and sluggish.

7. Get a good night’s sleep.  The more you sleep, the more the muscles repair.  A study done by University of Chicago’s Eve Van Cauter noted that individuals who get too little sleep metabolize glucose less efficiently, which may impair recovery.

 

What do you consider a productive day?

Do you do any of those things in the article?

Do you make protein shakes?  With what?

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

12 responses »

  1. Tcby for yo for any day is success in my book!

    I love trail running. There is something so serene about being out on the trail, it really takes you back to why you started loving to run in the first place.

    I love compression and swear by it. Also love my massage stick.

  2. When I met a girl friend for frozen yogurt at Sunni Bunni in Florida last week, it was seriously a shoe box. There weren’t even tables to sit … just a few chairs against the wall. Her poor little 18 month old child was bored within 2 seconds. It was the fastest meet-up ever! 🙂

  3. For me, a productive day is when I get at least one errand done, the house cleaned, play with the kiddos, get them to eat a couple healthy meals and get a run or cross train in. If I also find time for a social outing (usually combined with running somehow!) walking my dog, and an actual real conversation with the hubs… then I feel like a super mom! 🙂 As for the suggestions in the article… yep! Read it too, and have incorporated almost all of the suggestions except the cold/ice baths! Tried it once and no way will I ever do that again!! Love Tera’s Whey in smoothies. Almond milk, frozen banana, spinach, raw almond butter, cinnamon and chocolate Tera’s Whey is my go to breakfast these days, and a good recovery smoothie. Sooo good!

  4. Love your blog, I do ice and foam roll, need to get into yoga (no time) also Im curious about the protein shakes and wonder if all this recovery is after a long run or short runs? sometimes I only have time for a quick 3-5 miles in am? Should one still follow the same recovery as with long runs?
    Would love to hear your opinion.

    • Totally meant to respond to this earlier – but I do not think ALL of the recovery precautions are necessary after a 3-5 mile run. Or the need to refuel right after. I tend to just make whatever I plan on eating after, a shorter run, have a good balance of complex carbs, protein and fat. I do think stretching and rolling regularly can’t hurt though to prevent injuries. The long runs are the ones that require more TLC right after:)

  5. YAY for the track! GOOD LUCK with the leggy’s, I hope they feel great post-run, good idea to get them on the track 🙂
    Your Hub’s needs to come run Western States! (then we could hangout!!)
    a productive day is one that ends with a smile! as long as I have fun trying to get everything done & don’t stress than I’m happy and feel productive
    xoxo!

    • He actually entered the lottery for western states and didn’t get in:( I’m sure he will enter very year until he does get in!! Just my right shin can’t get it together, hurt quite a bit during the run, but not after. Taking that as an ok thing:-/ going to stay off of them until next week! I hope you are feeling fit and strong- but it sounds like it from your post!:) xo

  6. I’m jealous you take such a good license photo!
    I don’t usually drink protein shakes but found a great Groupon today for mini ones with 28 grams and 120 calories. Gonna give them a try. I definitely suck at taking care of myself recovery wise so that’s one of my current goals. Easier said than done for sure!
    Can’t wait to read about your training for the 50M. You and the hubby should schedule an ultra out here in CA. There are TONS of great ones to choose from. Bring the kiddos!
    Hope you have a good track session 🙂

    • My husband actually entered the lottery for western states, didn’t get in, but I’m sure he’ll keep entering until he does! I would love to get out to CA, I’ve never been!
      Have a great weekend!

  7. I usually have a protein shake after my workouts. I like using a frozen banana, almond milk, oats, vanilla pp, and anything else I have that’s fresh. Target has some cute clothes right now!

TALK TO ME:-)

