Irresistible Rain

Standard

Workout – RUN.  7 miles.  YES!!!!!  you read that right.  I just couldn’t resist this weather…

rain

what a beautiful day.  somehow, I managed to NOT run all week in the unbelievably beautifully gorgeous wonderful amazing April weather.  but the cold rain hits and I just cave.  I couldn’t stand it anymore.  into the rain I went. 

I’ve been such a good ‘rester’ lately, I deserved this run.  I’ve been craving a good run all week.  and all week I resisted (aside from the little track workout)  today, I had to give into the craving.  I had to give into what my body was telling me to do.  I especially like it when it says to me, go for it Katie, run, enjoy, be happy.  I oblige.  happy to.  It’s like when you have a food craving, they say it’s because your body is telling you it needs whatever nutrition that food can give you.  whether that is true or not, I do not know.  but go with me for a second…so I feel like after resting from running for so long and then this week I have this need to run that I can’t get rid of, it’s like my body is telling me to just run.  I am really good at over thinking and analyzing things, when sometimes it’s just better to step back, relax and go with with what your mind/body is ‘telling’ you to do, even when the logical, over thinking side is telling you to think twice.  think twice and listen to your body sometimes.  mine was ready for a little go at running on the roads today.  it was fantastic.  puddles, wind, soppy wet shoes and all.   

no, my right leg did not feel 100%

no, I did not feel fast or super strong

no, my shin did not hurt while I was running.  happy day.  and it didn’t hurt after.  and it still doesn’t hurt.  super happy day.

yes, my knee was a little angry

yes, my right leg was SUPER tight from my tush to my ankle.  all the way down the back

yes, I have an appointment for a massage tomorrow and that’s one reason I felt comfortable running today.

yes, it’s possible that I have an ear to ear grin that I ran 7 miles, didn’t feel great, but didn’t have a pity party that I didn’t feel perfect or run super fast.  I’m working with what I’ve got right now.  I’ve got my whole life quite a few years ahead of me to hone in on my running skills.

I didn’t really have a plan for this run.  I’m totally out of my element with running.  I’m not sure which way is up lately when I put my sneaks on.  which would be these as of late, even at the gym, mizuno wave rider 15’s…

mizuno

this is a totally random picture I found on my phone.  looks like anna really likes my shoes too.

they are the most supportive shoes I own and I am planning on wearing them for the marathon next weekend.  which is another reason I wanted to get out today.  I wanted to get another run in with them before we team up for the long one.

I decided right before I hit the pavement that I wanted to have an easy warmup mile and a couple miles to push it a bit with easier miles in between.  So it was a little all over the place, but I was happy with it.

splits

I was happy with the warmup, mile 2 felt good, mile 3 was nice and easy, mile 4 included a little wind, puddle jumping and car dodging.  then I just wanted to keep it steady for a few.  good stuff.

rolling hills.

run

 

(ps, while on garmin connect, I peeked at my gansett splits.  and almost vomited.  big mistake.  you will never know)

I think today’s run would have been completely 100% rainbows and butterflies (not butterflies, I don’t like butterflies, maybe tulips or orchids, I like those) and I would have had splits like this girl if I was wearing these two snazzy items…

lulu jacket

Hi lululemon.  will you be my friend?

lulu top

 

While we are on the topic of things that will make me happy and things that I think I need, here are a couple more

toms

here’s why I need these.  i wear flip flops a lot.  and I’m starting to think that they are really bad for your feet, legs, etc.  this may be a completely ridiculous justification to purchase a new pair of shoes.  but this is the one I am using to possibly purchase these this week.  for my feet.  my body is telling me that my feet are not happy and they need these.  I must listen.

and these…Hudsons…they are on sale…I will not say for how much…

hudson 

and here is why I need these…I don’t wear jeans enough and my body is telling me that it is because a lot of the jeans that I own are too tight and my legs and hips want more comfortable fitting jeans.  the only way to do that is to buy designer fitting jeans.  I should listen to the bod.  true.

other things that made me happy this weekend…

this adorable little guy got a haircut…and he just gets cuter.  didn’t think it was possible. 

luke haircut

and now we are sending him off to marine bootcamp.  he’s got the cut.  he’s ready.  he’s pretty tough and strong.

and these little ladies…all smiles

girls

they were loving each other at the moment.  then it’s possible that the big one was choking the little one the next moment.  not for sure though.

it was one of those Sundays where my husband and I looked at each other and kept saying, wow, this is just a really nice day with the family.  it flowed almost seamlessly.  I guess that’s kind of a rare thing with three little kids and schedules and training for races and birthday parties and busy weekend plans.  but everything jived today.  and it was pleasant.  there is light and the end of the crazy tunnel of really small children not sleeping very well and flying in all different directions at all times.  really good days, within good days.  

another happy note for Sunday – I found a lentil I like.  edit: I do not like lentils or ever plan on liking lentils but am one of those people that won’t give up on a food that is really good for you that I can make more palatable with a lot of salt and other seasonings as well as hiding it in another food like quinoa.  or chocolate.  there must be a lentil chocolate recipe that is to die for somewhere out there.  I need it.

lentils

anyway, I found a lentil that I did not destroy while trying to cook it.  it did not turn to mush.  it was not crunchy after it had been boiling for 25 minutes.  I daresay it cooked perfectly.  and it looked nice and rustic too.  thank you bob’s red mill for making a lentil that I could salt and pepper up and toss with quinoa and hopefully chocolate someday.

lentils 2

 

What a great Sunday.  I was really starting to get down that I have not been running.  and just when I needed it, I had a good run.  put a little pep in my step.  a little hip hip in my hooray.  a little assurance that my leg won’t have to be amputated below the knee.  yet.  a little confidence for another marathon next weekend.  a little bit of endorphins that this endorphin lacking, elliptacling, stairmastering, resting mama needed.  a little hope that all hope is not lost in the world.  good things happen and little families of five have fabulously fantastic Sunday afternoons.  and the children are going back to school tomorrow.  that helps too.

Give me YOUR weekend recap?!?

Races?

Long runs?

Injuries healing?

Lentils cooking properly? 

How do you feel about flip flops?  I wish I could wear them all year ‘round.  generally if it is above 30 degrees, they are on my feet.

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

9 responses »

  1. Glad you got a run in. I so understand that feeling of wanting to run but know it is better to not. I love those yellow Mizunos, I really want to get a new pair of sneakers even though I just got a new pair less than two months ago. I will resist!

  2. No LR’s here. It was pouring on Sat. and I always rest on Sundays. Just coming back to running, so I have to build slowly. I live in FL, so flip-flops year round. I am a believer in wearing supportive shoes. The ones I wear are made by Dr. Weil. He’s a podiatrist and Dillard’s carries them. They don’t look like old lady shoes either. I bought mine on sale and wear them almost everyday.

  3. I ran 14 miles on Sat but it didn’t go too well so I took another rest day today. Flip flops hurt my feet and my shins. I only have one pair and I don’t wear them very often. Maybe I just need a new pair for them to be comfortable. I live in my TOMS. I have 4 pair in my closet but my oldest ones are my faves!

  4. Toms shoes are the best! I wear my gray and pick heart ones (pictured on a blog post of mine) all the time. They are much better than flip flops! Plus I can hide my bruises toenails this way 🙂

    Congrats on the 7 Miler!! That is huge 🙂 I ran 3 miles in the rain. There was no pain but then later in the day I believe my mind was playing tricks on me. I was thinking “Is that muscle tight?” “does this hurt?” Am I the only uber paranoid one?? Have a great week!

  5. Yay! So happy you had a run. I enjoyed a wet 5 miles yesterday. It actually felt nice to run in the rain. I’m so tight now…could use a massage. I think it’s from the 14 hours of driving in 2 days.

  6. Love the mizunos!! I just tried my pair out like that this morning and am in love!!
    I love flip flops and would wear them all the time also, but I have found that I need to protect my feet and add cushioning to my shoes when i am training for something. So I don’t wear them often if Iam training. Unless I just need my flip flop fix which happens often.
    Love the jeans. I would love to find a more comfortable pair these days. I want loose fitting but they really don’t make them anymore.

TALK TO ME:-)

