Claiming It

Standard

Workout – chasing Luke around at 5am.  I am claiming that as my workout.  done.

other things I am claiming as my workout –

Staying up far too late last night enjoying the company of a very best friend and wine, and dinner, and flourless chocolate cake, and another bday celebratory cocktail – peach flirtini.  I can’t pass up the peach.  that’s a workout.  in some convoluted way, totally claiming that as a workout.  fork to mouth.  repeat.  work it girl.

I’m also claiming walking up and down the aisles of DSW shoe warehouse looking for the perfect pink pump.  found.

iphone pics 719

all this nonsense talk the other day about needing comfortable shoes for my hard working feet.  eh.  not today.  fashion over comfort.

 

and the perfect wedge.  found again.

iphone pics 718

someone needs to dress this girl up and take her out.  I might sleep in those tonight.  my 4 year old would.  one on each foot.  husband, do you see a problem with that?  I don’t see a problem.

actually, that little wedgy beauty is from the aisles of Marshalls.  an equally dangerous shoe haven.  I never knew I needed these until they jumped out at me.  scary actually.  even then, I held in my hands another basic, linen wedge saying to my girlfriend, I really want to be that (insert stripy fun wedge shoe) girl, but I’m really more of a basic linen wedge girl.  and she says, as any bf would, you know what, you will never be that (insert stripy fun wedge shoe) girl if you always go for the basic linen wedge.  I see you as the stripy fun wedge.  I’m a stripy wedge.  who knew. 

With a lot of things, I see myself one way, but want to be a different way – step out of my comfort zone, different, better, challenged.  I hold myself back because I tell myself, self, you are definitely not that person.  well, I can imagine why you’re not that person smarty, because you tell yourself you’re not and you keep doing things like buying basic linen wedges when you want the stripy wedge.  the linen wedge that keeps you being the linen wedge.  get the freaking linen wedge out of here and add a little stripe!  and patent leather!  and sass!  just a little.  take a baby step.  take a baby chance.  grow. 

and I’m so happy with my stripy wedge.  I don’t wish for one second that I had bought the linen wedge.  embodying the stripe.  linen be gone.  but for all I know I’m missing the trend entirely and linen is the most “in” thing right now.  besides the point.

I used to do this with running.  Oh, you’re not a runner.  you just run.  and you want to be a ‘runner’, but that’s for those other people.  and oh, you can’t run a sub 1:29 half marathon.  that’s for fast people.  I want to be fast, but those fast numbers are for fast people.  but I am a runner.  whether I run a 2 hour half or a 1:25 half.  and I am fast.  sometimes.  and I took little steps to get there.  out of my comfort zone.  and I will never win the olympics, or even get close to the olympics, but I’m claiming myself as a runner.  and anything else that I want to be that I tell myself I can’t be.  taking baby steps to get there.  like buying a stripy wedge instead of a linen one.  or buying a wedge at all.  there’s no reason for this 5’9.5” (yes, claiming that 1/2 inch as well) girl to be wearing a 4inch wedge.  but I want to.  so there.  life lessons in shoes.  be who you want to be.  or at least start trying to get there.  put down the linen wedge there stripy.

 

So if you count today, it’s 4 days until Marathon #5.  If you don’t count today, it’s 3 days until Marathon #5.  either way, it’s close.  What have I done to get ready for it today? 

Nothing.

that’s a good thing.  no working out.  no Lululemon stalking shopping.  no Fleet Feet run ins.  no pace calculations.  calm.  cool.  collected.

But, I had a massage yesterday.  that was….interesting.  chatty hatty massage therapist.  but I wasn’t really going to relax – I was going for her to massage the heck out of my legs and make them happy again.  this particular massage therapist was described to me as ‘a large woman who can get the work done’.  oh my.  230lbs of large kneading into my glute and hamstring.  that’s painful.  they wouldn’t budge.  tight is an understatement.  I might be slightly bruised today, but I do feel ‘looser’ in the leg area.  I think.  I’ll get back to you on that in a couple days when I can feel my legs again.

She recommended that I take an epsom salt/hydrogen peroxide bath a couple times before the race.  is she talking out of her bum?  I’ve heard of taking them after a race, but I guess taking one before couldn’t hurt.  Thoughts?

 

What is the last pair of shoes you bought (not sneakers)?

Do you like to get massages?

Have you ever taken an Epsom salt bath?  Beneficial?

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

20 responses »

  1. Love those rainbow wedges. My latest pair of shoes were actually a pair of fancy wedges for work that are maroon and slick looking. Love them. I love getting massages but rarely do just because of the expense. I used to go to a lady that was amazing and I would leave feeling like I was on top of the world.

  2. Love massages. I used to take epsom baths and then I switched to ice baths. I am sure it couldn’t hurt. I totally count your kid chasing, booze infused workouts as just that-workouts.

  3. Love a massage…love both the relax type and the painful fix for running injuries type. I have been told recently to do an epsom bath to loosen things up…give it a try – it won’t hurt. Last pair of shoes I bought were really cute nude wedges…not linen though, and no stripes – but I do LOVE your new stripy shoes. So cute. Totally would have claimed them. I stalked Lululemon and Fleet Feet in West Hartford after we saw you last week — lots of fun purchases…my running shoes, which no store ever has in stock, a sweaty band (love it), some socks and shorts & a tank and 2 cute shirts from Lulu. Ok…need to give my wallet a break.

  4. I actually have done the Epsom baths – once when was much younger and had an injured ankle and later when I spent a few month doing some serious backpacking. I thought It worked well but I don’t know if there is any scientific basis to it. Some people do it in ice too to really help with the inflammation. Can’t hurt to try….

  5. I’m a heel lover. During my DR trip last week, I was in heels almost the whole time. And I work at a desk currently so I can easily wear them all day. I recently bought the cutest bow sandals from Express. They’re adorable!!

  6. great post!
    I haven’t had a massage in forever and can’t relax during them anyways. Maybe if I took something before hand then I would be able to.
    And no on the whole bath thing, but other say it is very good for you.

    • I have a very hard time relaxing during massages as well – that’s why I never really have a desire to go purely for the relaxation of it, because it just doesn’t work for m! Have a good night:)

  7. This was a great post! As a newbie runner of only a year, I’ve spent most of my time telling myself nooo you could never! Never run a marathon, let alone qualify for Boston or even run a sub-2 half! But why not? Last month I finished my first marathon. Two weeks ago I did a 1:53 hilly half… a 32 minute PR for me! And Sunday I completed the RRCA coaching certification course, which was a truly humbling experience being in a class full of 100 mile ultra marathoners and a Badwater ultra marthoner and an Olympic Trials runner… But I did it! Baby steps can take you far 🙂
    As far as massage therapists go, I am a certified massage therapist and I for one CAN’T STAND chatty ones. Unless vital information is being collected I am in favor of the “quiet time game” that we play with the kids 😉 Epsom salt baths… never used them before a race, but it seems like a good idea?

    • Awesome half marathon!! It’s amazing what we can do when we change our mindset just a bit. I’m very impressed you took that class. That is something I would like to do as well. Have a great night!!

  8. Omg I love those pink pumps! GOOD LUCK!!! Sound like you have a great mindset going into it right now.

    I got a few passages awhile back when I was trying to keep my IT band at bay. They were extremely painful, but I think it helped a lot, because the IT band never became a real issue. One massage therapist, though, left bruises on my lateral thigh! I kid you not.

    btw, I totally counted cleaning my kitchen the other day as my workout : )

    • I count cleaning all the time as a workout! Especially when I’m vacuuming holding my two year old;-)
      I have my fingers crossed that both of my IT bands play nice this weekend:)
      Happy training!!

  9. I count cleaning as a workout too! I work up a sweat. Love the shoes, especially the pink pumps. What are you going to wear them with? I don’t get massages often. Like not even once a year. I have discovered A.R.T. and had to have a few sessions of that due to injury. It costs more than a massage and it’s not relaxing, but needed for my IT Band pain.

  10. I took Epsom salt baths everyday during the week leading up to the Gasparilla 15k. I was having some calf & IT BAND issues that the foam roller wasn’t touching. I took hot hot baths then rolled every day and by the time the race came around my legs were in much better shape.

    I Epsom salt bath pretty regularly when I have tight legs.

  11. I want both of those pairs of shoes.. they’re beautiful! I will be running Nashville too and saying I’m nervous is an understatement but SO excited 😀

    I am going to take an epsom salt bath tonight to loosen up more. I had a 90 minute massage that was full of some DEEP stretching on Monday so I’m a bit sore too so need to stretch out more and foam roll. Enjoy Nashville, best of luck! ❤

  12. On epsom salt…I was adding it to my “ice bucket” and I told my physical therapist about it. He seemed confused and said he didn’t know of any evidence that it helps injuries. I figure if it isn’t hurting…why not try it?

TALK TO ME:-)

