Help Me. Please.

Standard

Workout – elliptical easy 30 minutes.  really, too easy if you ask me.  but what am I gonna do.  I’m not running until Saturday.  there is only one stairclimber that is always in use.  my hands are tied.  default to the elliptical these days.  it’s really too bad you can’t do an elliptical marathon.

I need help.  In many ways. 

I need help organizing my schedule, preferably in the form of a full time personal assistant to remind me of things such as: go to your daughter’s kindergarten orientation this morning as well as find childcare for my son so that I am not chasing him up and down the halls at said orientation like I did last year for big sis.  it’s important.  you should probably be there and not miss it.  I missed it.  even though it was in the calendar.  anna will be none the wiser.  she’s just as clueless as I am.  something about the apple and the tree.

truthfully, on Monday I appropriately stressed ahead of time that she had orientation and I needed to figure out that little scheduling snippet of the week.  I promptly pushed it to the back of my mind to be ‘taken care of later’.  It was not taken care of later.  I didn’t know I missed it until I was reminded by a friend and the school secretary who left a message saying what kind of horrible mom are you that you missed your daughters orientation to such a milestone as kindergarten you should be ashamed we’re sorry we missed you today, perhaps you could try to come into our Thursday orientation?  not gonna happen.  still no childcare for my little gremlin and anna is in school.  unless you want to take cutie little gremlin Luke.  I’m in.

I need help folding my laundry.  there’s just too much of it for one person to do.  when I get to heaven, I’m going to ask God why there is so much darn laundry and where the heck does it all come from.  the basket it always full.  there is always a load in the wash.  always a load in the dryer.  always one waiting to be folded.  no matter what.  not nice.

I need help making certain decisions, one of which is what music to put on my new shuffle.  so green.  so friendly looking.  so cool.

iphone pics 721

I decided I wanted to run part of this marathon with music.  preferably the latter part.  I know.  I’m so on top of things and I’m so completely prepared.  I do things so far in advance it’s scary.  2 days before I leave and I have an empty green shuffle that I can’t get to sync with my computer, no music other than carrie underwood, taylor swift (don’t judge my music choice, but I know they are not going to help in the deathly realms of miles 21-26.2) and earphones I have never tried.  fantastic.  the guy at Target told me sometimes the earphones I got tend to hurt your ears after awhile.  I was thinking, dude, I’m not worried about a little ear bud pain.  that pain is nothing compared to the discomfort I am likely to experience at mile 24.  and I’m not paying $30 for the earphones you think I should get.  needless to say, I’m at a loss and don’t know where to begin to find adrenaline pumping heart beating music.  help me.

There is a good article, HERE, from Runner’s world about the pros and cons of running with music.  I think because I NEVER run with music, it could really help me keep my own thoughts out of my head.  I don’t want them there.  kind of a scary place the last few miles of a marathon.

What I don’t need help with is finding ways to make my life a little easier.  that’s a lie.  I need lots of help finding ways to make my day flow like milk chocolate, but I do have a few ways that help me smooth out the day…

1.  When there’s just not time to shower before going to kindergarten orientation to dance class and missing orientation….(be warned – unshowered, makeup-less pictures of me with random products, because it’s been awhile and I thought you should see some unshowered ridiculous pictures of me with products.  fun)

iphone pics 723

neutrogena got beat out by generic.  I bought neutrogena the first time, then this was on sale for like $2 less right next to it.  how could I not?  that’s $2 that could go directly to the lululemon fund kids college savings for goodness sake.

 

2.  For when there’s not time to put on makeup.  ever.  tinted moisturizer.  inexpensive version.  so that I don’t even have to feel bad about wearing it to the playground.  once again, neutrogena saves the day.

iphone pics 724

3.  For when you turn 30 and the eye wrinkles become a tad more noticeable and the regular stuff just isn’t cutting it…

iphone pics 725

4.  For when you take a sabbatical from protein powder, or just keep forgetting to order it, and need other non-meaty ways to get in protein (I opted out of this pic, egg whites stand alone)….

iphone pics 726

I’m thinking my body is made up mostly of egg whites at this point.  light and fluffy.

 

5.  For when the little guy only takes a one hour nap after being up at 5am all week and chooses to be a pissy pants crazy kid for the rest of the day…

straightjacket

TOTALLY KIDDING.  I would never.  even think about it.  he’s far too smart and would be out of that thing is seconds.  we use binkies and froggy loves and big sisters and happy words for attitude adjustments instead.  I was told in motherhood 101 that straight jackets were not appropriate.

iphone pics 727

this seems to do the trick.  as does a little good, old fashioned American Tail.  who doesn’t love Fievel.

 

And the prep continues for long weekend travels with gammy and the little girls.  Trying to figure out my silly little shuffle that doesn’t want to cooperate.  Getting some epsom salt and soaking in the tub.  followed by lots of rolling and icing tonight.  and then some packing.  and folding laundry.  and sleeping.  and making mental lists of all the things I need to do – like NOT forget the garmin or the charger.  very important. 

This will probably be the last post before the race on Saturday, and even then I can’t make promises of too much posting while in Nashville.  And I am already calculating that I am short about 8 hours of time tomorrow with all of the stuff I have to get done.  and a 6am flight on Friday.  joy.  gonna be tight.  I’ll make it work.  sleep is overrated.  among many other things.  I’m off to soak in some epsom salt and hydrogen peroxide.  fingers crossed. 

 

happy running and racing and spectating and anything else that goes with running this weekend!!!

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

15 responses »

  1. Lol! I would forget too…don’t worry. Btw-I can watch Luke for you if you need a babysitter…I’ve been there:)

  2. Girl, we skipped Kindergarten Orientation ON PURPOSE! Seriously, like my 5 year old is going to remember who is who and where the bathroom is at his new school 6 months from now….um no. I’m taking my good old time and going to register him when there are no lines. Who are these people who can get sitters for their other children in the middle of a work day?!? Not me! 🙂

  3. Have an awesome girls’ trip and a great race! And yeah the laundry thing is pretty much the bane of my existence …

  4. GOOOD LUCK Katie!!!!!! KILL IT!
    BLAST those tunes, and don’t even think about THINKING! you are ready, gooooo get it!
    most importantly have FUN, you already said this is a fun race, so don’t let ANYTHING change that outlook!
    xoxo!

  5. Hilarious! As in I’m laughing with not at you 🙂 The way you describe your life with the scheduling, endless laundry (seriously one of my least favorite chores!) orientations, child care, etc… feels like a chapter out of my week! Have a great time this weekend 🙂

  6. 2:25am. Making my own mental lists of things that may or may not get done tomorrow. Wanted to wish u luck and tell u again how much I love your blog:) praying that you are not still lying awake in bed making lists. The laundry can wait. Now go run!

  7. If it makes you feel any better, I’ve been known to frantically create my playlist the morning of the race…talk about procrastination! Best of luck!

TALK TO ME:-)

