Nashville Fun Part 2

Standard

Workout – I did 7 pull ups.  that counts. 

 iphone pics 761

proof.  in case you thought I was kidding. fully dressed.  ready to go.  how it happens. we have a little close grip pull up thing on the ceiling.  very convenient.  on one of my many daily trips to the laundry room, I just jump on and do a few pull ups.  I take what I can get.  I never said I was normal.

I was thinking about doing a little strength work today.  thinking.  and it doesn’t look like it’s going to fit in.  I am planning on hitting up the gym in the morning for some weight room loving.  that doesn’t count as cross training or anything remotely resembling cross training that I said I wasn’t going to do.  strength training is a beast of a different workout.  and as such, I am allowing myself to do as much or as little of it as my little heart desires in these next two weeks of not allowing my heart rate to rise above 60.  strength training always makes me feel good.  even if you don’t like it, you should do it.  it’s just one of those things that makes you a better person.  true.  makes all of your sparkly shining qualities shine through.  that’s a load of crap.  but it really does always make me feel like a superstar, especially when I can’t bust a cardio move.  strength training it will be. 

The fun thing about doing a race during a mini vacation, is that if it is a God awful horrible wish that never happened kind of race, you can let it just slip into a black hole whilst you continue the funning and playing and shopping and eating that happens on a vaca.  instead of immediately going home after a race and feeling badly about what just happened and having to face the real world and all of the not so fun things that go with it.

We (my sister and I) pulled ourselves together, collected the children and the gammy, and went out on the town for a little shopping.  I literally had to just sit here for 5 minutes to try and recollect what we did on Saturday afternoon after the race.  and now I remember.  we hung around the apartment for awhile as Alexandra tortured the puppy and the puppy tortured Anna.  it was a nice little hierarchy that went on.  Anna wanted nothing to do with the puppy.  and the puppy wanted everything to do with Anna.  very entertaining for the adults in the room.

jaime drove us around a bit and we found a place to eat.   we decided on pizza and ended up at this place called Mafiaoza’s. 

iphone pics 741

 

iphone pics 756

hit. the. spot.  I don’t eat much after a marathon, but by 5:30 I was ready for some food.  The pizza was good.  we also got some cheesy bread and a salad. 

was that just this morning that a marathon nearly killed my running?  no way.  not even thinking about it.  loving life.

we wrapped up the meal and moved on to harass another fine little establishment.  it was an un-assuming little vintage shop that looked like it had lots of fun little fragile things tightly packed into a fun little tiny store.  just screaming for us to bring two tiny little children in for a game of let’s see how long we last in here without breaking anything.  good times.  turns out the children aren’t so clumsy, but the gammy of the group is.  She knocked over a shelf of lamps and a rack of clothes.  she says it wasn’t her fault.  hmmmm.  not sure about this one.  we skedaddled right on out of there after apologetically saying it wasn’t our fault that the back half of the nice little store nearly collapsed on my 4 year old.  claiming bad hardware. 

and we moved onto another nice harmless little boutique.  this time we decided to be the super annoying people that walk into a shop 10 minutes before they close and everything has all been neatly folded and put back in place.  we tear the place up looking for fun boutique-y treasures and stay after closing time.  oops.  at least we bought a couple things.  the girls asked to buy every little thing in sight.  which was really just annoying to keep saying no to random trinkets that they had to have.  I think they each ended up with a toe ring.  and some lip gloss.  done. 

iphone pics 745

testing out the lip gloss.  no worries.  it was post purchase. 

my brother and sister-in-law are graciously giving me a niece in August/September (she’s due in September, but I am sending late August vibes so that she doesn’t go late), so I graciously decided to get my little niece-to-be a cute little pair of pink leather moccasins that I found.  I hope you like them, Liz – I think they are adorable and I’m not having another child to fill them 🙂

iphone pics 759

That’s all the fun and torment we brought upon Nashville for one evening.  the little loves were tired and we headed back home to get them to bed. 

iphone pics 758

sleepy heads.

 

we settled in and watched Friends With Benefits.  I thought it was pretty funny.  for a movie that requires zero brain cells or energy to watch.  it kept me entertained. 

and I continued to ignore the fact that my marathon times were moving at the speed of light in the wrong direction. 

Sunday morning brought a very nice 9 am church service at CrossPoint something or other.  We were out of there by 10:30 and still had the whole day to hop around town.  we hit up the farmer’s market and then continued shopping around. 

iphone pics 742

 

we all got a couple good little deals and steals.  My best purchase was a pair of Rock and Republic black skinny jeans for $37.  wardrobe necessity.  perfect.

We headed to downtown Nashville and walked up Broadway.  I guess this is the touristy area of downtown Nashville – with all of the bars and shops and little country bands playing.  we ducked into a couple bars and honky tonked with the best of them.  with the 4 and 5 year old.  totally normal.  bringing children into a bar.  not uncomfortable at all.  perfectly fine. 

iphone pics 751

one guy even sang a little T. Swift for my Anna.  she was smitten.  Auntie Jaime pulled out the dancing moves with Alex and then it was time to move on.

race?  what race?  I didn’t just run a horrible marathon yesterday.  out of your mind.  

My sister works at a fine little dining establishment called Stony River.  We had reservations for 5:30 on Sunday.  we wined and dined on a couple Martinis (neither of which were peach – I don’t know how the heck that happened.  I must have run a bad race or something and been in a state of clouded judgment while ordering).  we got a lot of food.  that’s really all I have to say about that.  think chicken, steak, blue cheese chips, bread, chocolate cake that really tasted nothing like chocolate cake but was completely delicious and hit the spot anyway.  good stuff.  all I have is a dark picture of Alex stuffing her face with steak to remember this dinner by. 

iphone pics 750

kid loves steak.  her top 3 foods are lobster, steak and sushi.  in that order.  she’ll be a cheap date.  she has this ability to not even chew her steak.  I kid you not.  I watched her pop four bites into her mouth right in a row and swallow it right down like it never happened.  takes after her marine father.

back to the apartment, pack up, hit the hay and get up at 4am to catch another 6am flight home.  like it never happened. 

oh, but it did happen.  and now I realize.  oh my.  I just ran a really horrible race.  what happened?  do I really have to take ownership of this one?  I do.  I am.   and because this post has already gotten way too long, my apologies, there will now be a part 3 to this rambling tomorrow.  discussing what went wrong, what is going to change, certain reflections, deep thoughts and life lessons by Katie.  I have editors and publishers lining up as we speak to get their hands on my material.  they especially like that I don’t follow grammatical rules and capitalize or put periods where they should be and start sentences with ‘and’ and ‘because’ and ‘but’.  true talent.

stay tuned my my blog loving friends.

 

If you had to choose – Steak, Lobster, or Sushi?

What is your favorite romantic comedy? 

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

13 responses »

  1. Ha! That’s how you get those toned arms. I must try but I can barely pull myself up.

    Sushi any time! My recent favourite romcom is “He’s just not that into you” Ginnifer Goodwin’s character is so funny!

  2. Gonna have to go with the crowd and say sushi. And this will totally date me, but my favorite romantic comedy is Can’t Buy Me Love!

    Looks like a super fun trip and all of you girls are absolutely beautiful.

  3. Steak (preferably ) bison. No lobster for this New Englander??

    LOVE all those wacky Woody Allen movies..Jade Scorpion is a personal favorite. Don’t do traditional chic flicks.

  4. I LOVE LOVE LOVE That you went to Mafiaoza’s! My husband and I went there on a whim about 4 years ago on a Nashville vacay. We loved it and often wondered if it was still there. Nashville is a great place to vacation!

    • We loved it too! That’s funny that you went there – my sister lives there and she said it was a great restaurant, so you picked well when you were there:) Have a great night!!

TALK TO ME:-)

