Burpees, Squats and What We Do

Standard

Workout – JM 30 day shred.  oh. my. goodness.  I felt so out of shape.  it was great.  sweat like a hog.  out of breath like I shouldn’t have been.  arms shaking.  all good.  but it sent me into a bit of a panic and an intense urge to go run.  holy moly.  I really have not run run in over 6 weeks.  I have done nothing significant in the realms of running in a long time.  and I don’t care what you say.  those marathons don’t count as significant.  and I don’t say that in a negative way.  I say that in a way of, I was not prepared for them and they did nothing significant to improve my running state.  then, the logical, get off the ledge part of me says, girlfriend, you will start running again in a couple weeks.  and you will take it slow.  then you will take off.  patience.  peace. happiness.  enjoy where you are at right now.  all better.  thanks for that little mind talk.  ok.  I’m back now.  I can run in a week or so.  and it will be painfully slow and sans garmin and I will work my way back up.  good.  until then, Jillian can kick my little booty into shape and I will be happy with it. 

In honor of not running, I pulled out my mizuno musha’s just to feel a little bit like a speedy runner. 

iphone pics 769

these are just fabulous.  and I can’t wait to get to have a track date with these beauties and run my little heart out.  or as jillian would say, ‘your heart should be gurgling in your throat right now’.  that’s a little disturbing.  should we maybe re-phrase that?

and I chose to work out in a sports bra and tighty shorts.  just because I could.  so there.

iphone pics 767

now back to Jillian.  she knows how to work it.  here’s where it’s at (and I’m no personal trainer, although I like to think I am, but I’m not, but I think you could probably do these few moves and slight variations of them and have a little gun show of your own at home)

Burpees

you can check out how to do these from good old wikipedia HERE, or just google if you are not sure.  they are killer.  and pretty much work every part of your body.

Static Squat with overhead shoulder press

to me, it’s kind of self explanatory, but not for everyone.  static squat is just getting in squat position and staying there, engaging your core.  then add some weight and do a shoulder press above your head – and don’t let your shoulders relax.  again, working many muscle groups.  I love shoulder workouts.  they do so much for a nice upper body. 

Plank Moguls

nearly killed me today as well.  get in plank position and jump your feet together up to the right, back to center and then up to the left.  repeat like 800 times.  or maybe just 20.  that would probably be sufficient.

Superman with shoulder press

lay flat on your stomach and pretend you are superman.  you will immediately gain all superman power.  done.  ok not that easy.  put arms out in front holding light weights.  pull arms back as you lift torso and legs, extend arms out and come back down.  repeat.  this is a tough one to explain, google it.  you might have better luck.  but it works many body parts – back, arms, glutes…

Chataranga Pushup

This is a pushup with your arms tight to your side and elbows back.  just plain tough.

I love all of these moves.  These are some that I do during my backyard and driveway workouts with the kiddos.  the neighbors must really love my workout shenanigans all over the yard.  These moves make a great circuit workout because you get your heart rate up doing the burpees and plank moguls.

That’s the workout.  Go kill yourself with some burpees and plank moguls.  you’ll be happier for it.

 

I must say, I have been in a wee bit of a non cardio funk this week.  that combined with coming back to rainy april may weather in New England from sunshiny Nashville was not enjoyable.  it’s taken me a few days to get into my groove.  and I’m still trying to find it.  I would have thought that not running at all would give me time to get my act together and actually shower and dress before the day got going.  not necessarily so.  I can’t find my way out of my sweatshirts.  or to the shower.  that’s on the list of things to do today.  promise.  but I bought some snazzy new perfume at the nash airport, so we’re all good.

iphone pics 766

at least I have my lululemon wunder unders to give me some sort of shape.

and I’m rubbing off on the kids.  they can’t get their act together either.  who dresses these children?

iphone pics 764

oh, luke.  I have no words. except that you wear pink boots well my boy.  don’t let your father see.

iphone pics 763

she’s always so colorful.  lovely child.

 

what we do when we are not running….

we fill the big black bag

iphone pics 762

this is funny.  it sends my girls into an immediate tailspin of panic/hysterics/heart palpitations.  amusing.  I assure them that they won’t miss anything that goes into that bag.  and they won’t.  that’s the scary thing.  I could clear half their toys and they won’t notice.  my prerogative.

we make delightful lunches

iphone pics 765

ok.  I always make this delightful lunch, running or not.  same thing every day.  total creature of habit.  it’s so good.  hits the spot everytime.  love me some flatout bread with garlic hummus, avocado, red pepper, egg whites and scallions.  I had the misfortune of making a bad judgment call on the ripeness of my last avocado.  not ripe.  had to skimp a bit on the cado.  rough life.

we play giant checkers

iphone pics 768

no, I did not purposely place my pieces strategically jumpable by her pieces so she would win and end this game quicker.  crazy talk.

in all seriousness, it’s so easy for me to play the ‘in a minute’ game with Alex.  she wants to play, and I always tell her in just a minute, I just have to do this, this and this.  I was talking to a friend about this today, and when I get in that mode, I try to step back and understand that she won’t be asking to play very much longer.  and she will be in full day school next fall and I will not see her for the majority of the day.  sad.  so I am making a more conscious effort to let her beat me at checkers when she asks.  good mom.

we shop…for protein

I have been out of protein powder for far too long.  travesty.  my go to powder has been this PlantFusion.  for some reason I just haven’t ordered it.  maybe I just needed a break from it.  but I need some now.  I picked up some at whole foods.  trying not to walk out of there with $60 protein powder takes some serious skill, but I found some reasonably priced stuff that didn’t look too terrible.  I haven’t used whey protein in a long time, and I don’t plan on sticking with it, but I thought I could tolerate it until I get online and order my stuff.  I also picked up a few sample packets.  I’ve never tried any of them, so I’m looking forward to see how they taste.

iphone pics 773

I tried that single serve fruity one tonight.  very tasty.  I would probably keep those on hand.  and I would probably want to come up with a fun little recipe to put it in.  for another day.

we read!!!!

iphone pics 770

so delighted to see this in my mailbox.

As much as I truly love and miss really running my little heart out, I am embracing this break and using it to take a few chill pills, recharge, re-plan, re-energize and hone in on certain necessities in all areas of my life like patience and balance.  I’m excited to have a plan for NYCM in the fall.  and I’m excited to be relaxed about running and training and waiting for the next thing instead of frantically making it happen.  good stuff. 

with that being said, I flipped to the section on the weekly plans and mileage.  I might have been drooling over those pages.  got me a little excited to get back into working towards something.  all in good time.  I’m not stressing over the half marathon next month that I had my heart set on winning PR’ing – the one that I will most likely back out of.  that’s ok.  it’s not the last half marathon known to mankind.  

Then I scanned through and flipped about.  I came across this little piece of information.  had I read this before April 14th, it’s a possibility I might not have had such a major marathon meltdown.  possible.

iphone pics 772

that >20 days part, yeah, I fell in that category pre-race.  REVISE GOAL.  perfect.  now I know.  thanks pfitzinger and douglas for making that clear to me now.

interesting stuff.  then I went back to the beginning and started reading.  all good stuff so far.  well done.

 

FYI – head over to Sweaty Bands and get the sweaty mom in your life a sweet sweaty band for 20% off for mother’s day.  or buy one for yourself if you are a mom or plan on becoming a mom or have a mom.

Use code mommy at checkout.  through May 13th.  knock yourself out.

and tomorrow I’m peacing out for a little bachelorette fun in Newport.  yippee.  no running.  no racing.  lots of fun to be had and friends to be around.  catch you all on the flipside.  or monday. 

 

Who is racing this weekend???

Who is running this weekend???

Who is vacationing this weekend???

Who is going to go grab a sweaty band this weekend???

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

15 responses »

  1. I wish I could look as fit as your when I work out in a sports bra and tiny shorts!!
    I’ll be running a 10K tomorrow! I hope to beat my March 10K time.
    I’m not vacationing this weekend, but in two weeks, I’ll be off to Hawai’i with my family 😀

  2. I LOVE JM 30 Day! It’s so ridiculous that I get that sweaty in that short of a time period. And I, too, am Bacheloretting (new word, I promise) it up this weekend. Unfortunately I was banned from wearing my spandex or anything Lulu 😉

  3. Thanks for sharing the info on making up for lost time. Super helpful to know! I’m running my 4th half marathon on Sunday. Crossing fingers for the sun to finally come back to New England. Have fun in Newport!

  4. Oh my goodness, you have so much cute Lulu stuff. I’m so jealous! I’m a broke grad student right now and already spend way WAY too much on running stuff. But still, I cannot wait until the day hubby and I have jobs and I can buy all the fancy schmancy running clothes and shoes I want. You’ll have to update later on how you like “Advanced Marathoning”. I haven’t read that one, but I have “Daniels Running Formula”. I’ve read some of it, but I’ve found it a little (ok a lot) too technical to just sit down and read. It’s more like reading a textbook!

  5. Lunch looks yummy! I may have to give that a try 🙂

    Did you ever finish In Defense of Food? What did you think about it?

    • I have not finished in defense of food yet :-/ I have so many books going, I need to just sit and focus on one! I do like it so far, I’m finding it very in depth and detailed. I think I need to get into it a bit more to really appreciate it. I will def write about it when I finish it!:)

  6. Ah! I’m sorry your not running yet! That book looks awesome tho, I think it’s the only running book I do not own. When I was (still am) having my shin issues I looked everywhere on how to readjust my schedule, just for peace of mind if nothing else.
    Is that the new lulu bra? I almost bought it last weekend and have been thinking about it ever since!

  7. I have been thinking about buying some JM DVDs to give me a break/change from running. Does she require a lot of equipment? I refuse to buy an exercise ball but I might keep a few weights around.
    Please let me know what you think about Advanced Marathoning, too – I’m thinking about buying that book and whipping my marathon into shape. Although I think what I really need it advanced 5king,haha.
    PS you look HAWT rocking the booty shorts!

  8. Just finished my last 20 mile run before the marathon. Yes- the marathon is only 2 weeks away, but I prefer a 2 week taper over a 3 week one 🙂

    Enjoy your weekend!!

  9. aww your little ones are so cute!! and yay for them keeping your mind off running while you re-focus! 🙂 LOVE THE MUSHA’s!
    I raced last weekend…and will not be racing again until the first weekend in June (3-weeks away!!!) I can’t wait for a fast race course, I’m seriously itching to run fast!
    I wish I was vacationing! and I am in love with both of my sweaty bands, I wore a pink sparkle one while racing on Saturday, and everyone was yelling “RUN PRINCESS!” haha…they stay put and hold all of my crazy curls back so I don’t mind!
    I hope you had a great weekend!
    xoxo!

TALK TO ME:-)

