Little Bit of This, Little Bit of That

Standard

Workout – lets get creative here and make this sound so fun and exciting.  core strength.  20 minutes.  not exciting.  I almost broke a sweat.  embracing the rest.  embracing the rest.  My “coach”, who we will refer to as Coach B from here on out, told me yesterday that the #1 thing I have to learn how to do is rest.  and not to set foot on the pavement until this weekend.  ok.  rest it is.  little bit of information about Coach B – he ran a 3:16 marathon.  when he was 11 years old.  nuff said.

Life is going about 90 miles an hour right now, with little time to breathe, let alone write a blog.  so, instead of filling you in on all the important things that you must know right this minute, I’m going to give you little bits of information that I will expound upon throughout the week.  throughout the craziness of dance recital dress rehearsals and teacher appreciation parties and running and playdates and other such things of life that fill the days to overflowing. 

here are some little bits for you.  in mostly pictures.

iphone pics 775  

little bits of new sneakers

that may or may not have hit the pavement for a short run to be talked about tomorrow, which happened before coach B told me for the 10th time not to hit the pavement.  I’m listening now. I promise.  but look how pretty those mizuno precisions are.  lovely.

iphone pics 776

 

little bits of family time

that little devil rode almost a mile on that little bike.  pretty impressive I think for a 2 year old.

 

iphone pics 777

little bits of experimenting in the kitchen

liphone pics 778

little bits of modifying the kitchen experimenting

to come up with an amazing little peanut butter snack that I will call the amazing peanut butter protein fiber snack bar.  dee lish.

iphone pics 774

little bits of spetzle 

yes, spetzle.  and I truly aplogize for the vomit inducing look of that picture.  but that is spetzle and it was pretty darn good.  if you have never had it, you should.  and yes, I would be the one to order this spetzle at a bachelorette party dinner pre-night out.  nothing like a good spetzle to bring on a night of fun and bachelorette shenanigans.

little bits of stripes

iphone pics 779

lotta bits of stripes actually.  gap kids?  crewcuts?  are you looking for your next cover model?  she’s got impeccable fashion sense. 

little bits of cooking grilling

iphone pics 781

iphone pics 782

homemade grilled pizza and stuffed bread.  amazing.  so easy.  we do a lot of grilling.  we are still without oven.

little bits of strength

iphone pics 780

outside.  where it should be.  working on adjusting my vitamin D deficiency as well.

 

I will quickly admit that the lack of cardiovascular exercise and running is getting a bit difficult, but not nearly as bad as I thought it would be.  it’s a little sad that I have no fun running to report on and no challenging speedwork to make me feel alive.  I’m alive.  and well.  and resting.  and it’s what I need to be doing.  I keep reminding myself that rest does a body good.  I will have plenty of speedwork when it’s time.  until I feel 100%, there is no reason to keep breaking my body down in training.  I will make much greater gains when I get back into running in a few days if I get back into it feeling all chipper and ready to run.  It is a little bit strange to feel so out of shape, but I know how quickly I can get back into shape.  and it is a relief to know that I have until November to get there.  NYCM, I’ve got my eye on you.  that’s the next big one. 

little bits of racing decisions

that I have made that I will share with you.  at a later time this week. 

and go check out this GIRLS blog, if you don’t read it already.  it’s just a great piece of writing.  took the words right out of my mind and said them in a way that people can actually understand.  love it.

little bits of randomness

we all know how much I love designer denim.  and lululemon.  and I love jesus and my family too.  they all take a special place in my heart.  but right now we are going to talk about denim.  my fab sister in law shares the same love for denim that I do, and keeps me aprised of the denim deals.  much appreciated.

here’s the latest, if you are into designer denim.  LASTCALL.COM.  check it out.  hudson skinny jeans.  additional 30% off their price, but just until today, I think.  need I say more?  other than don’t buy the last size 27 or 28 before I decide what size I am and whether or not I deserve it for a happy mother’s day present to me.  or else I’ll be very sad.

those are all of my little bits for the day. 

I will share the details of my little bits as we cruise on through this week. 

 

what are your little bits this week? 

I think a lot of people had some AMAZING races this weekend – lets hear about those little bits?!?

Have you ever grilled pizza?  You should.

Have you ever splurged on designer denim, but not paid full price?  You should.  but you should never pay full price.

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

16 responses »

  1. You’re doing a great job resting. I’m sure it’s hard (mentally) to cut out the cardio. Just remember that it’ll be worth it in the end.

    What type/brand of trikes do your kiddos ride? I’m looking for something for my 2 yr old twins to cruise around in. Everything I’ve seen is either too tall and/or it tips over too easily!

    • That little one he is riding is awesome! He really just started riding it a few weeks ago (he turned 2 in Feb.) and is obsessed, so easy for him and he LOVES it. I will look tomorrow to see who makes it and let you know!!

  2. Just checked out the Hudsons. Love them…I’ll have to wait till they’re 80% off though!
    Grilling pizza may be dinner this week…yours looks amazing!

  3. Resting is hard, but listen to that prodigy, Coach B!

    I volunteered at a race this past weekend, and learned so much about how to be a good water-receiver during a race! (More info on my blog).

    • yep, they are power blocks. We’ve had them for years, and I tend to just use the basic block with the little weights that go inside. And the pizza was pretty amazing:)

  4. My little bits this week is I’m slowly getting little bits faster. Ha ha. I’ve been doing yasso 800’s for the last few weeks and loving it. And I’m addicted to designer denim – but they really do last so much longer so that’s how I justify it!

    • Yay for speed! Although, I am a teency bit jealous that you are running fast and I am running none;) keep it up!! You are going to have a great half marathon!!

  5. That pizza looks so delish! As does the peanut butter protein treat! I hope you are able to review the mizuno precisions soon (only when Coach gives you the go-ahead, of course!) as I’ve been eyeing them as well for a lightweight trainer.

TALK TO ME:-)

