Fearless

Standard

Workout – ding ding we have a winner!  JM squeezed her way into my rainy day wednesday just perfectly.  sicky boy is not so sicky today but he’s tired.  possibly because he deemed 4am an appropriate time to start the day.  fantastic.  I was not so fantastic at 4am.  so while he was happily snoozing, my best little workout buddy and I got moving…

iphone pics 790

that little lady can work it with the best of them.  and she knows exactly when she needs to modify the exercise to her level.  as well as instruct me if she felt like I was not on par with Ms. Jillian.  she’s kind of a big deal.  cool kid.

I felt good about that workout.  neither here nor there, but glad it was done.  we all know what I would rather be doing.  If we don’t all know what I would rather be doing, get on board and refer back to the title of this blog.  runner would be the operative word.

Why am I not crosstraining in these two weeks?  I have a couple reasons.  two to be exact.  let me list them out for you.

1. Because I hurt.  I ran a lot.  and my body needed a break to heal some shin issues and some really tight hamstrings that remain to be really tight.  I ran my fall races and did not break.  I went right into training harder than I ever did for these spring races.  which leads to reason #2…

2.  I just needed to rest.  I wasn’t feeling burnt out, but I was probably a tad burnt out judging by how marathon #1 turned out and my emotional state surrounding it and the shin splints before it.  my body needed to rest and my mind needed to rest.  I needed to refocus.

Therefore, crosstraining is not conducive to the plan of resting and re-charging.  few more days of this and I’ll be feeling good about my decision to take it easy and I will be super ready to run. 

Instead of getting bogged down by thinking about all of the fitness and speed and strength that I have lost in these past couple months, I remind myself of where I was before I even started running not too long ago and thinking about what I have now.  in life and in running.  I remind myself of where I was in the fall.  Marathons were not even close to being on my radar.  such a funny thing.  I ran my first race and only marathon in 2008, I qualified for Boston and didn’t have any desire to run it. 

I decided to run my October 2011 marathon last minute because I didn’t get into the 50 miler I wanted to do.  Now I am hooked.  I was barely running 40 miles a week, including the long run.  no speedwork.  no formal plan.  and I ran a 3:11 marathon 4 weeks after a 3:17 marathon.  with a pretty bum IT band tagging along the whole time.  that gives me confidence.  that shows me what I HAVE.  that reminds me that I can get anywhere with time and work.  that shows me that I need to get back to basics with myself and my training and what motivates me to MOVE.  that brings me back up when I feel like I’ve lost all ability to run.  because in my completely not dramatic mind, I really could lose all ability to run after a couple weeks off.  terrible thing.  this rest has brought me right back to the basics of easing into running and training and taking my time to get to a marathon goal.

My little 3 mile Sunday jaunt was not in the rest plan.  but I had to get out there.  the thing about running – it’s generally not about running.  it’s sometimes about what your mind needs and what your heart needs.  I needed to be out on the road for a couple miles, moving.  I needed that little run on Sunday to have my little epiphany – fearless (no worries, I’m not breaking out into Taylor Swift lyrics.  as much as I love her – yes I will admit that I enjoy me some TSwift music, partly as my motherly duties because my 4 year old wants to be her when she grows up – and because I think she is one talented little lady).  back on to the topic.  be fearless.  don’t be afraid of little things that come up.  it is what it is.  like shin splints that make you think your leg might need to be amputated.  unplanned life stuff.  uncertainties, or even certainties.  don’t sweat it.  take it head on and don’t hold onto it.  Fear is debilitating.  especially in a race.  fear that an injury is going to surface and ruin all plans of ever PR’ing.  let it go.  leave it at home.

Don’t be afraid to push the pace.  Don’t be afraid to run faster than your ‘plan’ says.  Don’t be afraid to run slower.  Don’t be afraid to run when you may not feel 100%.  Don’t be afraid to rest.  Don’t be afraid of what you don’t know.  Don’t be afraid to fail.  failure is only possible if you have actually tried.  and every failure means that you’ve set a goal and you have hopefully learned something to help you try again to get that goal.  Don’t let your fears turn into excuses that keep you in your little box and keep you from even trying.  I’m living with my ‘failure’ right now, and all I want to do is run another race asap so that I don’t have to live with this last marathon until the my fall race.  It was more fun living with my fall 3:11 marathon.  but I’m learning from it.  and it’s good to live with plans gone wrong for awhile.  I’m learning patience.  and I’m planning on it pushing me towards my goal.  everything all fits into the grand scheme of this life God has laid out for me, which I know has bigger plans than I make for myself.  and that’s kind of exciting.

 

And look who is behind Sheryl Crow…

USweekly-Nashville2

I’m kind of a celebrity.

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

13 responses »

  1. First of all…LOVE this post. Secondly, way to be all celebrity by hightailing it behind S.C. And third, my kids love JM as well. Although they did learn the word ass from her 🙂

  2. Great post here. 🙂 Ha! This picture is awesome. You make me laugh. Love those Pure flows. And your foot kind of goes out to the side like mine. Since you’re way faster than me in the marathon, I’ll take this as a good thing. 🙂 You have so many great races ahead of you. And you have a great perspective. Excited to see you make some big PRS over the next few years.

  3. Hi, I found your blog a couple of weeks ago randomly when I was searching Saucony A5 reviews on google. Anyway, you’re such an inspiration and I love reading your posts! Did you ever end up keeping the A5s? I just ordered those and the Nike Free 3.0 and have to decide between the two (shame I can’t keep both!).

    • Hi Brittainy! Thanks for reading and commenting! I did not end up keeping the A5’s, although I loved them. I had just bought quite a few pairs, and they were the ones that went back because I would use them for shorter distances and I was in marathon mode. In the meantime, I got the Mizuno Musha, a comparable shoe, and I love them. I feel like the musha are a bit more solid than the A5’s, but still super lightweight and minimal. I found that I had to go up 1/2 size in both of them. I don’t think you can go wrong with either one!
      Have a great day!

  4. This is such a great post, it really resonates with me as well. Keep listening to your body and you’ll be right where you need to be this fall.

    And that picture is AWESOME. Particularly because you’re finishing the full right behind her… finishing the half. Rock on! 😉

  5. You’re famous! Dang that woman looks good for 50! You’ll bounce back girl, you deserve a bit of time away from the heavy load of workouts. Speed comes and goes, and it’s nearly impossible to hold a peak forever so loosing a bit of speed now will pay off tenfold for you later!

TALK TO ME:-)

