Confessions of a Running Mom

Standard

Let’s do a little confessional Friday.  Have a little chat, shall we?

1. Workout.  we always begin with the workout.  are you ready?  I’m back.  today.  back in the running game. 

run1

outfit of choice – lululemon skirt and cool racerback top (I threw the black patagonia on right after the momentous run), mizuno precision sneaks, wonderful.  cep compression socks.  will be accompanying me frequently.  the mile long legs are complementary.

it’s just plain exciting.  aren’t you excited?  I kind of felt like a newborn baby runner.  amazing what 12 days off will do.  besides deplete you of all speed and endurance you feel like you once had.  it will also make you feel really good that you took that rest time and everything that got lost in the rest is ok.  I kind of feel like I am starting over a little bit.  after almost 2 weeks off.  and a whole lot of time off before that.  and I guess that’s kind of what I wanted.  and needed.  reset button.  so I declared today as my first day back instead of Sunday.  I have the power to do that.  well, kind of.  I took a solid 12 days off (not counting the little Sunday 3 miler.  shhhhh)  the weather was perfect.  I had to do it.  I had no choice.  really, it made me really really happy.  so happy that I’m even playing the smart runner and NOT running tomorrow.  but don’t hold me to that.  so happy that I let my daughter stay up half an hour later to play checkers and tic tac toe with me.  that’s big.  mom of the year award over here.  mini confession:  she totally beat me.  fair and square.  I wasn’t even letting her take my pieces.  she’s good.      

2. The Garmin.  I stated that I was not going to take it with me on any run for the next couple weeks so that I could just take it easy and not ‘race’ myself, like I generally do.  I confess.  I had garmin in hand today.  I would have taken it with me if it was not dead.  bad runner.  I have no resolve or self control when it comes to that silly watch.  let’s just leave it dead for awhile.  I’m not going to charge it.  then I don’t have to make the decision not to bring it.

3. The pace.  might have been a little faster than a return to running pace was prescribed to me.  by coach.  I wore a regular watch and looked at it when I started and when I ended.  5 miles.  37 minutes. 7:24.  not terrible.  It was comfortable.  I could have held it for a bit.  It was not hard, but it wasn’t super easy.  very very strange.  that was a fairly EASY pace back in the day of two months ago.  I have a LOT of work to do.

4.  My kids made this mess. 

iodine

looks like a small bloodbath happened.  scary.  no children or animals were harmed.  fear not.

ok, if this is true confessions, that’s not true.  I did this mess.  and it’s there to stay.  this did not make me happy.  It’s slightly annoying to have to take all of these things prescribed by the naturopath.  It’s more annoying to be opening the iodine prescribed for my thyroid and drop the entire little bottle all over the cabinets.  iodine stains.  immediately.  and with anger.  I’ve been wanting to redecorate.  I think it’s a good look.  so if you are in the unfortunate situation to be taking iodine, take care not to throw it all over your kitchen.  speaking of naturopath, another mini confession: I have been eating chocolate after dinner.  a small amount.  that was a no no.  working on it.

5.  I like to celebrate the little things.  ok.  confession.  I don’t really.  I’d really rather not plan birthday parties and celebratory events.  I might be saying that to justify my plans to hit up lululemon tomorrow.  because there happen to be two perfectly suitable celebrations for which to shop at lulu – mother’s day and my return to running.  they both are deserving of some celebratory purchase for sure.

6.  I got a sitter for a saturday.  so that I could go to Lululemon get mother’s day presents.  because I do things last minute.  all the time.  this is very out of character and weird for me to do on a Saturday.  I’ve never gotten a sitter during the day.  but the hubs is going to be occupado all day and that leaves me with three little kids from 5am – because it’s my morning to get up with the little early riser – until bed time.  this requires some reinforcement.  for the sanity of mama and the precious children.  I know a few hours of child free errands at the end of the week will make the day go a lot smoother for all parties.  there comes a point where I just can not handle one. more. errand.  dragging the kids in and out of the car.  it gets exhausting sometimes.  so as out of character as it may be – it is necessary tomorrow.  as mentioned, I’m going to try to keep my good runner hat on and not run when I have a sitter at my fingertips.  take it nice and slow there with the running, champ.  pretty sure the lululemon mother’s day shopping will suck up all of my sitter time.

7. I was very close to stealing my nana’s gift that I got her for mother’s day.  and she doesn’t even know it’s her gift.  now she does.

dessert

I’m so sneaky.  nana, I apologize.  there is something terribly wrong about stealing from your grandmother, a little sweet gift that you haven’t even given her yet.  but there are three of them.  and they have been sitting in my fridge all day.  surely she wouldn’t miss a nibble.  I resisted.  if that’s not will power, I do not know what is.  I will confess that multiple times I had to put them down and walk away from the fridge.  there.  I feel better.  and there are no little nibbles missing.  promise.  but if you are reading this nana, you may want to come get them asap tomorrow.  I can’t promise they will survive another day.

8.  I love CEP compression socks, but these ones are my second skin as of late.

compression

sit and spin anyone?  it’s a fabulous little toy.  and our makeshift gymnastics mat.  suitable for handstands, backbends and cartwheels for the tiniest of gymnasts.

I bought these Pro Compression socks before my Gansett marathon in mid April.  They make me feel like my legs are wrapped in a little piece of heaven.  blissful.  magical.  I think I saw unicorns or rainbows or fairies or something buzzing around them.  they are that magical.  I have some pretty harsh veins going on in my calfs.   I blame pregnancy, but that can’t really be verified.  “they” tell me it’s more genetics.  I tell “them” it’s not fair.  “they” don’t care and I’m stuck with them because “insurance” doesn’t cover “those” procedures and “they” are expensive.  I like using ” “.   Off on a tangent I go – back now…anyway, they, being the socks, help with that vein discomfort and they help with spastic shins after a run.  and they snuggle my feet very nicely.  the whole package.  I like to wear my own socks running, so I tend to wear the calf sleeves running and these babies at home.  but I think I should give these a try for a run sometime soon. 

9.  I am watching THE VOW right now.  no further comment.

 

Happy Mother’s Day to all of you mamas out there!!!

What fun will everyone be having this weekend?

What running will everyone be having this weekend? 

Happy to say that I will be running too!  yippee.

 

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

17 responses »

  1. Sorry to hear about the iodine stain. I’ve used soft scrub with bleach to get laundry marker out of the counters. Just a thought. I love reading your blogs. Makes me wish I was there to babysit!

  2. YAY loveeee the running excitement!!!! 🙂
    …and the precisions…ahhhh I am in love too!
    enjoy a wonderful Mother’s day!! and have a blast in LULU!!! eeeek! I had very good restraint in the store yesterday and only walked out with the board shorts i’ve been drooling over 🙂
    xoxo!

  3. CEP & Lulu… my favorites! I wish I could spend all my money at Lulu … too bad I am graduating college and have no job lined up. I still haven’t ran in 2 weeks but am going to try so hard to get out there today. My legs are still feeling 300m of lunges I did Friday 🙂

    HAPPY MOTHERS DAY!

  4. What kind of thyroid problem do you have? I am always curious to see what other people do with thyroid problems. I had mine removed five years ago and have just soaked up as much info as possible about it. I would love to know what you are prescribed and doing.

    • I have hashimotos, which is autoimmune hypothyroid – under active. It just always seems like its wacky all over the place, even on medication. My brother, who is a PA, was telling me I should just have it removed. Why did you have yours removed? I’m taking synthroid, iodine, and thyroid support stuff from whole foods, think its called thyrofem. I avoid a lot of foods, like soy, walnuts, kale, spinach and brussel sprouts in excess. Which stinks, because those are my favorite veggies! I don’t eat them nearly as much as I used to.

      • I had thyroid cancer, so now that I have no thyroid I am hypothyroid as well. I avoid all of those foods too, but have just heard about iodine for energy. I take levoxyl but would love to learn more about the thyrofem. Do you take that in addition to the synthroid?

      • Yep, I take the iodine and thyrofem along with the prescription synthroid. It’s hard to tell how well it works, I guess I have to wait for my next bloodwork in a couple months. But my TSH kept going up on the synthroid. I’m hoping all of this other stuff helps! Another one I got from whole foods is called metabolic advantage and it has actual thyroid (thyroxin-free) in it, whatever that means:)

    • Hi heather!! Thanks for reading!! This is why I switched to running skirts:) I have one pair of pearl Izumi that I got on runningwarehouse.com that I love. Search the blog using “short shorts”- there is a post about them, but I can email the link…and anything from lululemon will not budge, kind of worth the money, to me! I’m hippy and everything slides up- hate it. Maybe I will work on a post about it!

      • Thanks! I just started buying skirts to run in and I love them. I’m going to check out the shorts on running warehouse….just made my first purchase through them. They are awesome….free shipping and very quick! Hot pink saucony kinvaras woohoo 🙂 I’m afraid to even go into Lululemon because I know I’ll love everything!!

TALK TO ME:-)

