Thursdays Fly and Excuses

Standard

Workout – RUN!!!  it’s still pretty fun to write that.  again, without a watch.  or the garmin.  sorry garmin.  I know it’s lonely stuck, uncharged, behind the computer.  but it’s a good place for you right now little guy.  catch ya later.  I ran without my compression sleeves.  not on purpose.  believe me.  I wanted nothing more than to wear my litlte security blanket calf sleeves and suck my thumb like a little baby runner.  but I totally felt a difference.  I only have one pair of the sleeves, and they were dirty from running in the rain yesterday.  I promptly popped these pro compression suckers on as soon as I walked in the door.  sweet relief.

 iphone pics 814

bringing the sexy out.  slippers and sleeves.  sweaty and smelly.  nice.

Morning run – 5.7 miles, in about 43 minutes.  I checked the clock as I walked out the door and again upon my return.  and I did the math.  quite simple.  time works, even when you don’t wear a watch running.  go figure.  I came up with 43 minutes.  hilly.  happy.  I think that’s right around 7:30 pace.  I think this is my happy pace.  I’m consciously taking it easy and not pushing it, so I feel like I’m in the 8’s, but 7:30’s work better for me on a daily short run basis.

It was gorgeous today and I had to get back out.  I have a problem.  I did 2.1 miles midday…more on that in a minute.

7.8 miles total

Unlike the Wednesday’s in my life, Thursday’s are generally busier and the day flies by.  So it’s ok that I don’t get showered and dressed before 9am when I head out of the house.  because I’m so busy that I don’t really notice the sweaty stench all day.  my apologies to those around me.  you people might notice.  apparently, I don’t really care.

Here’s how the day flies…

My #1 heads to school at 8:25.  one down.  two to go.  my #2 and #3 usually stay outside if it is nice out.  and onto the next part of the morning…

approximately 3 outfit changes for Luke before 9am because his new favorite game in this early part of the day is “make mud” and “dump mud all over my front half”.  As the mother, I let this happen because it lets me play “breathe”, “clean up from breakfast” and “have a moment of peace in the house”.  until he comes walking inside covered in mud saying “all dirty”.  no kidding.  is that what that is all over you, Luke.  clean him up and send him back out.  sometimes I stick a lollipop in his mouth just to keep him quiet.

On a day like today, when it is sunshiny and beautiful, we try to get to the playground.  Big sister gets home at 11:45.  which keeps the morning fast paced because we try to cram as much as possible in the less than 3 hours we have by the time we get out of the house.  because I was such a stellar meal planner and grocery shopper at the beginning of the week, I don’t have to waste this time scrambling for food at the grocery store as Luke rips into every. single. item I put in the cart.  today our time was spent at the playground.  where neither of my children really wanted to be and whined the whole time to go home.  I don’t get it.  sometimes the playground is more for the mommies than the kids anyway.  so I made them stay and play.  because sometimes I just don’t want to be home with them.  they need to be out of the house.

#1 arrived home promptly at 11:50, joined in with the other two and resumed playing “make mud” and “dump mud all over luke”  whilst I played “make lunch for the kids a la carte”, “get #2 ready for school” and “pop open the bottle of wine because it’s after 12”

We head out to bring #2 to school at 12:45 and dump Luke in the crib to take a nap asap upon our return.  and it’s me and alexandra time.

as I had mentioned before, I had quite an insatiable urge to run again today.  it was 75 and perfect today.  I convinced Alex to ride her bike while I ran and told her we could go to the coffee shop and get her a special drink.  It’s 1 mile to the coffee shop.  perfect.  2 miles roundtrip.  Luke was sleeping, so her and I went for a ride/run.

are you a little concerned?  no worries.  I did not leave Luke sleeping alone in the house.  he has childproof handles on his doors, so there is no way he could get out, and the dog was here to protect.  so was the hubs.  he’s sick.  and came home early.  worked out perfect for me.  taking advantage of his sickness.  I had a wonderful little impromptu midday break with my girl.  exactly what both of us needed.

she rode.

iphone pics 816

I ran.

 

she had a snack.

iphone pics 818

and we stopped to feed her pet horse on the way back. 

iphone pics 819

it’s not really hers.  but she tried to buy it last year with her piggy bank savings.  and a nice note to the owners.  big disappointment when I told her it just wasn’t feasible.

iphone pics 820

she named him brownie.  such creativity flowing in this family.

We walk back in the door just in time for Luke to be waking up.  head back outside for a few minutes before we leave to pick Anna up from school at 3:30.  They’ve pretty much exhausted the “mud playing” for the day, so I’m safe on muddy clothes changes.  we go get Anna, come back home.  more playing and off to gymnastics at 4:15.  both girls are in the same class, and that gives me an hour to run an errand with Luke, and then pick up the girls.  We don’t get home until close to 6.  I throw dinner together, throw it down, get the kids ready for bed and tuck them in by 7:15.  night night.  days over.  been real fun.  and fast.  and kind of stinky.

That’s the Thursday that flies right by.  I like it like that.  not much down time.  I really only like a lot of down time if someone else has my children.  the truth.  I like it when it’s busier and full of activities with them.  they are happier.  I am happier.

Some Quick Thoughts On Running

I’ve been running this week.  I think when I run.  Naturally, I’ve been doing a bit more thinking this week.  this is not necessarily a good thing, but I will share with you some things I am thinking.  Most of them pertain to excuses people use to not run.  that I don’t necessarily agree with.  all the time.  but are probably valid.  sometimes.  I just have a hard time with excuses.  and reasons not to do something.  or even to give it a try when it follows a statement like, “I would love to, BUT…”  and that is maybe the die hard runner in me, but get the BUT out of that statement and just do it. 

1. My Knees Hurt.  I keep hearing this one, and sometimes I just don’t get it.  because it’s usually people who do not exercise and are at least 20 lbs overweight that I hear this from.  and I think, did you ever possibly think that your knees hurt because you don’t run?  my knees hurt far more when I first started to run than they do now.  they don’t hurt now.  I have occasional IT band issues, but that’s not really a knee issue as much as it is a lack of stretching issue.  it’s an excuse.  that sabotages your health.  with that being said, I totally get that people have real knee issues.  but I still think it shouldn’t be an excuse to keep you sedentary.

running does hurt.  especially if you’ve never done it.  giving birth to a child hurts, but it’s not bad for you.  that’s probably a really bad analogy, but was the first that came to mind for some very strange reason.  things hurt, but that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t give it an honest try.

2. I’m too tired.  so here’s the thing.  no one cares.  if you are tired before you run, there is a chance you will still be tired after you run, so you have nothing to lose.  you can still claim your “tired”.  but now you will be tired, and fit.  and feeling good.  BUT, you do have something to gain if you get moving – the chances are, you might actually NOT be tired if you get your booty in gear.  you might have MORE energy.  MOVE.  I have more energy during the day and am no more tired at 10pm if I get up at 5am and get my run in early get up with Luke man and wait for the perfect opportunity to run than if I did nothing all day other than complain about how tired I was.  maybe that’s just me.

3. I don’t have time.  just can’t handle that.  I know people are busy.  priorities.  schedule it in if you are that busy.  write it in your calendar like an appointment that can’t be missed.  physical activity is so important.  It might sound easy for me to say because I am a stay at home mom and have all the time in the world according to some, but you saw my schedule.  that is most days of the week.  luke doesn’t give me a break.  I am exhausted.  and there are rest days.  only because there are hard work days.  there is a LOT to get done in a day with 3 kids and a home.  make time.

excuses are not really valid reasons, for anything.  excuses don’t make you faster, fitter, leaner or stronger.  they keep you right where you are.  and I don’t want to stay right where I am.  I want to be moving forward.  fitter, faster, stronger, smarter….

 

What running/exercise excuses have you heard?

What is your busiest day of the week?

Happy Thursday!!!

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

7 responses »

  1. I have a friend who says she doesn’t exercise because she doesn’t like that it makes her hair greasy! That is probably one of the more pathetic excuses I have heard, that and “I can’t be bothered”. My busiest day of the week is usually Tuesday; there always seems to be a lot going on at work that day.

  2. Oh my gosh. I love reading about your day! It’s almost just like mine. How have we not lost our sanity? ;). Everyday is hectic here between different school and activities but I cannot complain bc my youngest goes to Kindergarten in the Fall and I’ll have three entire hours to myself daily then. I cannot wait! Your daughter is a beauty!

    • Oh my, I kind of can’t wait until my youngest is even in preschool! And my town just switched to full day kindergarten in the fall, so I have to say I’m kind of excited about that:) and I’m pretty sure my sanity got lost when #3 came along;-)

  3. I have a friend who says she can’t run because everytime she starts she feels like she’s going to #2 her pants… I forwarded her the link to Shut Up + Run! Lol! If there’s a will, there’s a way even with that issue 😉

  4. I just think it’s about priortizing what’s important to you. Some days, I think I “don’t have time” to run because I prefer to sleep. Or I prefer to spend time with my husband. It doesn’t mean that I literally have no time … I’m just making a conscious choice to use my time elsewhere. But that’s not an excuse … it’s just my choice! 😉

    • I agree! Total difference between choosing and excusing;) And I think you can make that choice because you also know how to make the choice to be active:) and that’s a good thing to do!:)

TALK TO ME:-)

