In Review

Standard

Workout – 3 Miles.  I can’t divulge the time it took me to run these 3 miles because I forgot to look at the clock when I got home.  I can definitely say it was more than 15 minutes and less than 45.

I kind of wanted to do 5 miles today to make the week a 30 mile week.  then I thought, self, we don’t care about numbers this week.  and this is actually day 5 of running on your first week back, and we kind of had a silent agreement that we would only run 4 days.  so we will compromise and run 3 miles on this 5th day to prove that we don’t care about the # of miles.  this week.  3 miles it was.  28 miles for the week.  and I had to regrets about it.

I think it would be a good time to review the week in running and how it went.  considering that it is Friday and the running for the week is done.  I will not be running tomorrow.  I would love to run tomorrow.  and I would love for it to be a long sort of run tomorrow.  but I am going to NYC tomorrow with a very good friend to have some girl time.  while I will be doing A LOT of walking, there will be no running miles.

Let’s start at the beginning:

Sunday- 6.1 miles

Monday– 5.1 miles

Tuesday– cross train. 1 hour stairmaster = about 8-9 miles

Wednesday- 6.4 miles

Thursday- 7.8 miles

Friday- 3 miles

Total: running – 28.4.  add some cross training.  and some strength training.  a tiny bit.  but worth counting.  I could describe every run this week in the same way – they were all equally enjoyable and felt exactly the same.  that is really all I want.  good paces.  good weather.  perfect distances.  no pressure.  exactly what I need now.

I’m going to be honest.  this was not an easy week.  the running wasn’t hard, but my body is still getting into the rhythm of actually running.  My right leg is still pretty wonky.  tightness. little aches.  nothing that is alarming to me.  just working itself out.  which is keeping me mindful of keeping it nice and easy.  keeping the ‘nice and easy’ thinking on the brain is good because I really want to run a lot of miles.  and this is what I have to think – I MUST keep it relaxed now because it’s not time to even start training yet.  keep it happy and slow and low mileage, so that when it’s time for the hard work stuff, my body is not breaking down and injured.  I need it to be in tip top shape.  and that is what keeps me from going out and doing 10 mile runs everyday.  among other things.  It is funny how running changes over time – it takes more discipline at this moment to NOT run, than it does to get out and run.  I want to be at 45ish miles a week easily by the end of June.  and that is completely within my means, with some speedwork/tempos.  then continue on and get into the 60’s by end of july.  and probably not go higher than that.  if that is even doable.  we’ll see what the bod has to say about that.

I’m looking forward to week 2 back in the running game.  hopefully into the 30 mile range.  and hopefully a long-ish run at the end of the week.

that’s all peeps.  no pics today.  lacking in the picture taking department.

 

Happy racing to those of you running!!!  I’ll check in with you on Monday – I want reports!

Tell me about other fun weekend plans?!?!  as if people really make weekend plans other than long runs and fun races.

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

9 responses »

    • I am counting on slow time on my feet to keep easing this tightness out – thanks for the encouragement! I’m so glad you are getting so many base miles in, I don’t know how you do it?!?! I’m hoping to get to that point someday:)

  1. So true that it’s harder to trust letting a wee bit of fitness go now for long term growth, but so worth it. It’ll feel so great when you head out there again for all those miles 🙂

    Racing on Sunday, excited about it. But they are warning that the temps are going to be a wee bit sizzly so if you aren’t “highly fit” to not run or to run it with frequent walking breaks. Don’t think I’m going to comply to that request… Live on the edge a bit.

    • #1 – You DO fit into the HIGHLY FIT category, and have a very smart head on your shoulders and will do exactly what you need to do to make it through this race. #2 – You are amazingly fast and trained and strong, go kill it:-)

  2. We just got back from a lovely morning at a local farmer’s market. 🙂 We got fresh organic strawberries, granola, and salsa. There was also a art festival going on, and we got a couple of pictures for our new house. Great morning!

  3. I am running a full marathon tomorrow…. and the forcast is now 90 degrees! Yikes!! I will let you know how it goes… 🙂

    • PLEEEEAAASE let me know how it goes?!?! And don’t be afraid to adjust your goals – running in the heat is serious stuff, nevermind running 26.2 miles in the heat. Be safe and run strong:) I will be thinking of you sending you cool running thoughts;-)

      • How to describe the marathon: hot, scorching, oppressive, humbling, frustrating. But I finished!! I seriously considered dropping out at multiple points, but I ended with a 3:35::39. Obviosuly not what I hoped to run, but I will take it! I became dizzy at times on the course and had to slow WAY down (even walking at some points during the second half). There were not enough water stations so when I would get to one (about every 2miles) I would chug water and Gatoraid. So my stomach was finicky the whole way because of the large amounts- but infrequent- of fluid.

        I am so glad that it is over! And my body is feeling great now 🙂 Haha.

TALK TO ME:-)

