Katie vs. Stairmaster

Standard

I win

Workout – 1.5 hours on stairmaster.  tried to kill me.  but I provoked it.  and survived.  I’m not sure exactly what’s gotten into me these past couple days with an intense desire to have a killer workout, without actually killing myself or putting in too much running effort, but I’m gonna go with it.  after the 8 sweaty miles yesterday, I wanted a rough and tough crosstraining workout today.  I got what I wanted.  just the way it should be.  I did 45 minutes on the speed intervals this morning and another 45 on the hill program tonight.  perfection.  and I squeezed in some driveway strength training time with pics to prove it…

iphone pics 834

 

iphone pics 835

 

iphone pics 836

my children are spectacular photographers.  have I mentioned I love compression socks.  I do.

 

and Luke keeping tabs on me from the car…

iphone pics 837

Immediately post picture, Alexandra and Luke had the most brilliant idea to give the car a mud bath.  if you are not sure what that is, it is exactly as it sounds.  dump dirt all over the car than fill it all up with water.  so that the car is now full of muddy water.  fantastic.  all in the span of 2 minutes that I went inside to use the bathroom.  this is why moms don’t pee.  until 8pm.

I want to hit 30 – 35 miles this week in 4 days total of running.  I’m planning on getting a short, long run in this weekend.  my first post marathons long run.  10-12 miles.  I know, that’s not in the long run realm, but I’m pretending it is this weekend.  That means tomorrow I HAVE to get to the gym in the early am to get my run in, or run early outside.  crosstrain wednesday, and then run again on Thursday. crosstrain Friday and run on Saturday. I’ve got it all planned out.  and it will most certainly all work out just as I have planned because that’s how life goes as a stay at home mom with 3 little kids.  always according to plan.  lies. 

Lets talk food, because I have some good food stuff to talk about.  actually, none of it is really particularly noteworthy as much as I just want to share with you what is going on in my food world as of late, more precisely, today.  and I think you should care.

I stole this chocolate frosting recipe from this very cool blog called Stuftmama, and tweaked it a tad to make it my own.  remaining completely un-original as are most things I do.  but inspired, nonetheless.  inspired is good too.

iphone pics 839

I certainly do not disappoint with the horrible food pics.  I already ate 2/3 of it.  and then proceeded to lick the bowl clean.  true.  tongue in bowl.  no shame in my game.  waste not want not.  chocolate is a precious commodity in these parts.

Here’s how I did it:

1/4c. unsweetened cocoa

2-3 Tbsp unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1/2 Tbsp honey (I think you probably don’t need this, but I put it in this time)

1.5 tsp truvia/stevia – I did not measure this, just a guess, add more if needed

if I had it, I would have added almond extract

whisk it up and eat!  You can also freeze it.  tasty chocolate treat.  you can also smear it all over my peanut butter protein bar.  amazing.

iphone pics 845

and you can see my split peas soaking in the background.  which brings me to my next food item of the day….preparing my split peas to be made into split pea snacks.  they need to soak for an eternity and then they will be ready to turn into delightful little savory treats.  hopefully I’ll get to that part or I’ve just wasted 3 cups of split peas.

and food item #3, grocery store finds.  before we get into that – I have to say that I have decided today that grocery shopping is currently my least favorite chore/activity/way to spend 2 hours of my day including getting there and unloading.  no like.  ok.  glad I got that off my itty bitty chest.  these are two things I came home with – one of which I can’t live without and another of which I have never bought.

iphone pics 838

we could easily plow through those avocados in two days.  love them.  but I have never bought a 5lb bag of golden potatoes.  don’t know what possessed me.  maybe the same strange feeling that is making me want to do endless hours of stairmaster workouts and run in the hot hot sun.  I don’t know.  but I had to buy them.  now I have to figure out what to do with them.  we just aren’t really potato people.  but I kind of want to be.  I think potatoes have gotten a bad rap in the not so distant past, and they need to be redeemed.  there are many good qualities about potatoes.  google it and you can find out for yourself. 

which brings me to food item #4 of the day.  dinner.  unlike last week, I was feeling completely uninspired for the meals this week.  I still somehow managed to spend a crapload of money at the store without any specific meals to show for it.  hate that.  looks like we’ll be having eggs, avocados and almond milk all week.  when in doubt for a meal, resort to vegetables.  of the frozen kind that are always in abundance in my freezer.  when in further doubt, resort to something in a jar that you can add to vegetables to make them like a super tasty favorite indian dish that you don’t know the name of but won’t cost you $50 for takeout.  more like $3.99.  much more budget friendly.  I LOVE indian food.  and sushi.  it’s a toss up for most favorite.  probably sushi.

iphone pics 840

Throw it all in a pan and let it simmer and cook. 

iphone pics 842

it does not get easier than that.  until you have a little aha moment and remember the 5lb bag of beautiful golden potatoes you just bought.  but they aren’t cooked.  and everything else is.  solutions for everything.  I can think of nothing healthier than wrapping the little spud in plastic and sticking it in the microwave.

iphone pics 843

not thinking about it.  chop it up and toss it in.  throw a couple runny eggs over the top and voila.  perfect meal.

Here’s how I did it, in case you care…

1/2 of a 16oz bag each of frozen broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, sugar snap peas. 

1 can of chick peas

1 red pepper

Microwave frozen veggies together according to directions.  they don’t have to be all the way cooked, just not completely frozen.

While they are microwaving, sautee drained chick peas and pepper in 1Tbsp olive oil, salt and pepper.

Add in veggies.  stir it up and add in Tikka sauce, or whatever sauce you get.  simmer and cook until done.  if you cook your potatoes the super fancy way in the microwave like I do, add them in at the end.  If you don’t know how to do potatoes the super fancy way, wrap in plastic (sounds so bad to me), microwave for 2 minutes, turn over and microwave 2 more minutes, or more depending on how big they are.

You can add meat to this as well.  but you are smart people and can probably figure out that you can add or take away whatever the heck you want.  the homemade indian dinner police won’t come arrest you for making it differently.  no worries.  get some naan to really make it authentically worth your money saving time.  your welcome.

There you have it.  some recipes.  some nonsense.  some horrible pictures of me doing some strange workout thing.  just what you need to be reading on a monday night.  have fun.

 

What is your favorite way to eat a potato?

Do you like Indian cuisine?

What does your running week look like?  Do you try to plan it out, or take it day by day?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

6 responses »

  1. The peanut butter bars with frosting look amazing! One of my kiddos is allergic to peanuts, so, I will never taste their goodness…unless I sneak one at work.
    I am a “newbee” runner, and did muy 1st half in a Loooooong time in March. I’ve got the Detroit Half in October, so I figure I’ll plan my runs weekly starting when school’s out.
    You go with your “not long run 10-12!”

TALK TO ME:-)

