Word. To the Wise. and the 840 calorie cupcake.

Standard

edit* – this post was written yesterday and lazy bones didn’t finish it.  all of the “today’s” are really “yesterday’s”.  and lazy bones certainly isn’t going to change the whole post.  read on.

Workout – yesterday, walked LOTS of city blocks.  fun.  but not as fun as today….RAN 8 miles.  outside.  in approximately 80 something degree weather.  that’s fun. 

I really do like running in the heat.  running all summer in the hot temps is great preparation for a nice cool fall race.  looking forward to that.  I like training in the heat better when I am prepared.  I was not really prepared today.  the large iced coffee that I had this morning didn’t serve too well to keep me hydrated in those temps.  and in my simple minded running brain, I never feel the need to bring water on runs less than 10 miles.  whether it be 30 degrees or 85 degrees.  silly.  that needs to change.  Here’s what I came up with after today’s run – some wisdom from Katie after my first HOT run of the season…

Word to the Wise #1:  How to make a run hard.  I wanted a HARD run today.  I wanted to have to take myself out of my mental comfort zone a bit.  I wanted a run that would make me want to be all can’t this just end right now, I’m kind of not enjoying this at all, but kind of loving it at the same time because I CAN run and I feel good except for that really tight spot at the top of my hamstring that is kind of becoming nice company.  that kind of run.  I needed the kind that is hard without having to push the pace because I’m not at the push the pace point.  all of my runs are nice and relaxed, no pace worries at all.  so how do you make a run hard without ever having to push the pace?  Let me tell you.  Run in 85 degree weather.  Run a distance longer than you have in the past 3 weeks.  Run without water (which is actually not advisable, but that’s what I did and it made me want to jump in the river and drink it).  Run a bit of a hilly route.  and don’t go to the bathroom before you hit the road.  an added bonus that makes it really challenging.  Success.  It was just tough enough in every aspect but the pace.

Average Pace: 7:37

Confession.  I ran with my garmin today.  garmin and I are in a really good spot right now.  after a one week separation, I have learned how to say no to garmin checking every 3.2 seconds.  I think.  at least for today.  I wore it with the promise that it would not dictate my pace. one. bit.  The purpose of breaking out the Garmin – I wanted a nice, easy run.  one that felt comfortable, not forced and not pushing it.  and I wanted to know what that pace was at this point in my running.  I needed a little check in.  I checked the pace, but not obsessively.  when I saw the pace slow down, I had no response.  I remained emotionally detached from the garmin pace.  It did not effect my attitude or my run.  I continued to run how I felt.  and it turns out I was feeling about a 7:37 average pace for 8 miles.  with the heat.  and lack of water.  and hills.  and intense need to find a bathroom for the last 3 miles (read on).  I am happy with all that.

Word to the Wise #2:  With all that being said about making a run hard – don’t run without water when it’s really hot.  common sense to most.  not to me.  or at least hydrate properly beforehand.  the truth is, I am usually very well hydrated and had I been well hydrated today, I still wouldn’t have taken water with me on an 8 miler and I would have been fine, despite the heat.  but today, I was dying of thirst by mile 4.

Word to the Wise #3:  always act like a 4 year old and go to the bathroom, whether you actually have to or not, before you embark on your run.  you will be thankful you did at mile 5.  especially if you have had 3 children and your bladder control is kind of like that of a 90 year old when you are running.  it’s not pretty.  and you must know this because running isn’t always pretty.  another good reason to wear black shorts or running skirts – accidents happen people.  I’m not saying it happened to me, just saying they happen.  black hides them better.  but I wouldn’t really know that because it’s never happened to me.  the need to pee only made the end of my run a little more challenging trying to hold it all together and run at the same time.  I daresay my pace at the end would have been slightly faster if I was not so consumed with trying not to pee.

Word to the Wise #4:  Don’t use last years sunscreen.  it probably won’t work.  tan lines.  I’m going to have an angry dermatologist next month.  #1 thing on my grocery list is new sunscreen.

Here’s how the run looked today

iphone pics 830

 

iphone pics 831 

Not really impressed with the splits, but happy with the overall.

iphone pics 829

 

 

Backtrack to Saturday.  I go to NYC with my girlfriend every year.  We went on Saturday and it was a beautiful day of walking around, eating, shopping and just enjoying being away from the kids having some girl time.  Every year we pass CRUMBS cupcakes on the way to and from Grand Central, and every year I say I am going to get one of their amazing cupcakes.  I FINALLY got one three.  two for the girls and luke and one for the hubs and I.  I found it kind of strange that they put the calorie count for each cupcake under the name.  840 calories.  in one cupcake.  how is that even possible?  most of them were around 400-500, but this one was 840 calories.  and I got it.

iphone pics 827

I don’t know if they injected pure lard into this little gem, but that calorie count was up there.  and it was mighty tasty.  can you guess which one would give you a heart attack as soon as you ate it?  fyi, there are only 2 kinds in there, two of them are the same.  birthday cupcake and grasshopper pie.  they all have some sort of decadent filling inside.     

  A Little Weekend Wrap up…

My daughter sleeps with sunglasses on.  true.  she must have them every night.  and this is what I found when I went to check on her before I went to bed…10pm.  sound asleep.

iphone pics 826

 

We saw a turtle in the road on the way home from church yesterday.  naturally, the only thing to do is grab it and put it in the car to 1) scare the bejesus out of Alex and 2) Have Anna torment Alex with how “cool” it is and try to make her touch it.

iphone pics 828

Friends of ours opened up a new fro yo place in town – Sweet Frog.  so yummy.  all the cousins enjoying their sugar high.

iphone pics 825

 

Happy Monday, friends.  I started my week by skipping my 5am gym session because a certain 5 year old that I won’t name was in my bed kicking me all night and another certain 2 year old that I won’t name was up with a low fever not wanting to sleep.  while Monday morning gym sessions are almost crucial to my sanity for the week, I let it go.  remaining confident that some sort of workout will fit its way into my day.

I know some of you experienced the running heat this weekend in races – brutal!!!  I hope you are resting and recovering and planning the next one.  😉

Fill me in on the weekend races/fun activities???

Do you prefer running in hot or cold?

Do you have a Sweet Frog near you?

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

6 responses »

  1. I must pee before I leave the house for a run like a young child. Sometimes I’ll think, “Hey, I just peed 15 minutes ago, I don’t need to go.” Then I’ll run half a block and turn back around to go to the bathroom. It’s ridiculous.

  2. I’m a temp weenie for running. Being in SoCal I’m used to a nice 60-70 running temp. That said, sometimes (like this weekend) I like to start my runs inland where it’s warm and end at the cool beach breezes 🙂 And we don’t have a Sweet Frog, but I do love me some FroYo!

  3. I made the same mistake this weekend! I went out for a 12 miler and thought I would be ok without water. Not the case. Lesson learned! Glad to hear you’re back up and running with minimal pain 🙂

  4. I think I prefer running in the heat. It doesn’t get super cold where I live but we do get a few early morning winter frosts and temps in the low 30s and i just don’t like it (I am such a cold weather wuss). I can’t believe you went out on a hot 8 miler without water. That’s hardcore; I am such a worst case scenario person so I usually take water with me, even if i don’t think I will need it- just in case. Enjoy your week!!

  5. ohh I LOVE hot runs…so satisfying! I am awful at hydrating while running so I spent all day yesterday with a water bottle in my hand after my 15-miler in 90* sunshine! I hope all this hot training/racing i’m doing will have me prepared for a hot Chicago marathon this fall!
    I pee at least 2x before leaving the house!
    I hope your Monday has been great so far (aside from the lack of sleep!)
    xoxo!

TALK TO ME:-)

