Long Runs and Trail Races

Standard
**Note- this was written on Sunday and not published until today. read as if you were still gloriously enjoying your Sunday afternoon instead of in the trenches of a work week/stay at home mom week with all kids home on summer break – it will be more enjoyable that way

Workouts

Let’s start with Saturday’s long run – my longest run since I’ve returned to running after the April marathons and a lot of time off before that from shin splints. This was my 5th week back, and I am just starting to incorporate a little speed to test out my legs and start to give them a feel for faster.  My mileage has increased over the past five weeks and my longer run on Saturday got me to 50 miles for last week. yippee. happy week.
 
Saturday – 14 miles. I don’t know the time. I ran 6 alone and 8 with a friend. I know the 8 friendly miles were about exactly 8 minute miles. The solo miles were closer to 7:30. Perfect 14 miles.
 
Sunday – 6 miles. confession, I partnered up with garmin for this one. I just felt the need.  I had no real intentions of speed. I often don’t know what the run will hold these days until I start running, which is kind of nice – soon enough they will all be planned out. the gps didn’t kick in for about 3/10 of a mile, but the timer started right away so my time was accurate but my distance was off. Blah blah blah. Feet start moving and this turned into a let’s make this a marathon goal pace run, because that sounds like a fun thing to do on fathers day. which turned into, let’s just run and see how it goes. it went pretty well. I get all mathematical with pace figuring sometimes, and judging by my scientific calculations, the first 1.3 miles were about 7:20 pace.  truly ground breaking stuff here.  the average pace was about 6:37.  the last 4 were- 6:30, 6:16, 6:32, 6:17, then a 3/4 mile jog to make 6.  happy with that too. getting a feel for speed again. 
 
Saturday had all sorts of family shenanigans going on. It’s just what we do when the weather’s nice and the hubs and I are feeling like letting our children have an utterly enjoyable childhood. homemade slip ‘n slide. 
 
 
 
There’s nothing like throwing your children down a tarp of running water at lightning speed.  contesting who could get the farthest distance off the tarp and into the middle of the yard.  pure fun. for parent and child alike. 
 
We did some driveway bike riding with our best buds. 
 
 
biking is so much more fun with friends. They go everywhere luke goes.  boy needs some friends.  riding this little bike is our favorite past time. 5:30 am, Luke and froggy’s are riding the bike
 
Most importantly, Shelby is not living in a paper cup anymore. we didn’t want to get reported for animal cruelty so we got her (or him, I’m still not sure) a proper home. 
 
I don’t know how, but my daughters unconditional love for this hermit crab has rubbed off on me and I have grown fondly attached to Shelby.  adorable little thing.
 
Fathers day started with a family trip up to Massachusetts.  the Hubs ran a trail half marathon.  it was actually 13.5 miles to be exact. we piled in the car with lots of snacks and went to cheer on our favorite daddy.  I usually get slightly insanely jealous of other people running races when I am not. I didn’t really get jealous of this one. maybe just a little bit after, but not before. 3,000 feet in elevation gain in the first 3 miles. frightening. you can have this one all to yourself hubs. I would much rather fish Luke out of a nearby stream. 
 
Mt. Grey lock in Mass.  you get to go straight up that mountain over yonder. real fun.  lady in the middle of the field was doing some serious warmups. I hope she didn’t injure herself before she even got going. 

Kidings and I, and hubs’ friend drove to the 7.5 mile mark to wait for him to come through. this was rough and tough trail running. down and dirty. I surely would have dislocated some thing had I attempted this. I am better at spectating these things for now.  The kids and I did just fine.  we found a log and claimed it. ticks and all. this is the wild outdoors.
 
 
we packed plenty of food and hung out.  because food always makes kids happy and pleasant.  you would think 4 lbs of grapes, 2 lbs of strawberries, bananas, pb&j sandwiches, crackers and what not would last awhile…they didn’t.  these kids can plow through some produce in no time. 
 
 
I don’t know what they are looking at, but Luke is missing out on something spectacular. 
 
Hubs finished in 2:23.  fantastic. he loves the trail running. love may actually be a strong word for his feelings about trail running. if he has to run, he would prefer trails.  
 
It’s good that we run differently. It’s hard enough sometimes that we both run. I will do an ultra trail run in the next two years.  But for now, I like the road and he likes the trails. and it keeps us nicely balanced.  and I don’t have to make him feel badly about beating him on all the trail runs.
 
I got in touch with my inner chef and prepared a lovely fathers day dinner. the requested first course was nachos with avocado. done.  yum. 
 
 
The picture of health. you’ve got to just enjoy food like this sometimes. all in moderation and not all the time. hubs definitely worked for it after that trail run. 
 
 
 
Followed by beef tenderloin on the grill, sweet potatoes and corn on the cob. dee – lish.  
 
 
I don’t really sit down to eat most nights. I hover. and get water refills and second helpings and cut up food and take memorable photographs that will never get printed and usually end up finishing off whatever is not eaten. so healthy. 
 
I hope everyone had a great fathers day and happy races if that’s what you did this weekend. 
 
Don’t forget to check out the GIVEAWAY
 
Tell me about your weekend??

Racing?  did anyone ‘bump’ into Kara Goucher at the half marathon championships??

Grilling?  

Slip ‘n Sliding???

Healthy or not so healthy eating? 
 
 
 
 
 
About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

11 responses »

  1. You are always miraculously on the go-go-go. I only hope when it comes my turn to add onto my family that I can keep it up like you do! My birthday was yesterday so I ran a marathon to celebrate it – it was my firs title running purely for fun and not for time – it is amazing how that changes my mindset about every aspect of it! I had a great time! Happy Monday!

  2. Great job on the trail run! I eat like that too. Never sit, but like a human garbage disposal with total disregard for food that has been half chewed and such. Must eat leftovers…ha!

  3. Congrats on your first 50 mile week since the marathons! It’s so nice that you and your hubs both run! No running or races for this girl. I cant convince myself to run outside in the heat.
    Looks like you had a great weekend! 🙂

  4. Love your homemade slip and slide, my dad made us one when my sister and I were little, probably before they were even available in stores! That is exactly how I eat too, it’s the waitress-style dinners!

  5. Hi Katie –
    I ran the marathon in Duluth but didn’t see Kara – rats. Lots of my friends saw her, talked to Adam, watched them chase their kid around and all that – apparently they are just a super cute family. Aww.

    Glad to see you back running again! Stay healthy and SMART and I know you will be smashing out some awesome PRs soon!

    -Amy H

  6. AWESOME weekend!!
    heck yes to a great LR, and to the hubs’ trail race! definitely deserving of Nachos!
    healthy eating and not healthy eating both took place this weekend 🙂
    I hope your monday is off to a great start!
    xoxo!

  7. Pingback: Roadtrip « msfitrunner

  8. Pingback: Humid, Hot, Hilly, Happy – 4 on the 4th « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)

