911, I Have an Emergency

Standard
Workout

7 mile progression run. I’m pathetic. I find something I like and use and abuse.  like progression running, lululemon and chocolate to name a few.  I always knew about progression running, but have not experienced the joy and benefit from them as I have this week. Had I known how fabulous they were, I would have been doing them and getting sick of them for far longer. It was either a progression run or just a steady run at about 7:15 pace. I went with progression. what do you know, my average pace ended up being 7:15. but I feel the benefits of the progression run were far more than if I had just gone out and done 7:15’s for 7 miles. That would have been boring, and more boring. do some progressions, have a fun run.
 
 
 
 Here’s what my progression run gave me today – pace experience and training:
 
Mile 1 – 7:50 – my legs are dead. this is a good pace to start with. holding back a tad, but could just stay here for a bit
 
Mile 2 – 7:37 – wow, I’ve got the hang of this. Progressing nicely. legs are loosening. 
 
Mile 3 – 7:32 – I should be a professional progressional runner. I’m perfect. So is this run.
 
Mile 4 – 7:18 – professional progressor out the window. that jump in pace was way to much, that was pace for mile 6. but mr. Gentleman running on the road in front of me, who I nicely progressed towards and passed, did not like being passed.  he decided to race.  and pick up his pace. #1, if I wanted to race I would have paid a high entry fee, made myself sick with anxiety and at least gotten a wicking shirt. maybe a medal.  I did not want to race. I wanted to progress. #2, don’t race me. I will win. and then run circles around you.  he didn’t pass me.  but my progression run just got bumped up a notch.
 
Mile 5 – 7:16 – back to perfection. nice little increase.  no one trying to race me.
 
Mile 6 – 7:06 – hello little hills. instead of letting you take my pace down today, I’m going to take you. I don’t know if you heard, but I’m doing a progression run. don’t get in the way. I have a pace to hit and it’s under 7:10. running a hill with purpose. making a hill fun. 
 
Mile 7 – 6:16 –  speed.  I had planned on making this last one a speedy mile from the beginning. we hit speedy.  Good stuff.
 
Mile .06 – 5:20 – sub 6 for .06 miles. watch out you Olympic sprinters. I’m coming to get you. not really. I just wanted to see a 5 something on my watch. running vanity at its finest. 
 
Other fantastic things about progressions- 
For the pacing dummies, like myself, it requires and teaches you to learn about different paces, how they feel and how subtly they can change depending on your effort. As soon as the mile beeped at a 7:50 pace, and I had to “pick up the pace” for the next mile, I would quickly find myself running a 7 minute mile. not how it’s supposed to go. so I would slow down, then speed up a bit until I got it right. fun run.
Because its so progressive, my legs really weren’t any more tired than they would have been at the end of a consistent 7 mile run, but I got better training.
 
I progressed and compressed. another good run day. 
 
 
 
Somehow, I got locked out of my iPhone today. not a huge deal. except that we got rid of our house phone and only use our cell phones. and that will be changing NOW. #1 on the to do list is to get a house phone again. the only thing I could use my phone for is an emergency call. 
 
To me, being a stay at home mom to three little ones who are now all out of school and it is approximately one hundred degrees out and 8000% humidity, wonders, what exactly constitutes an emergency call??  My definition of emergency might be quite different from your definition, my apple product friends. This is what I might consider an emergency call…
 
911, my son has packed up all the hammers and is heading out. I’m concerned. 


911, my precious 5 year old keeps saying “whatever mom” and I don’t know how to make it stop.

It’s scary. 



911, my son is screaming bloody murder at the oscillating fan and keeps turning off the AC units. It’s hot. help me. 

911, I was supposed to run 10 miles today and only did 7. something has to be done.

911, I can’t possibly cook in this heat, do you deliver sushi?

911, I just read People Style Watch while enjoying my stair master and there are so many must haves, I don’t know where to begin.  I am in distress. 

911, scratch that last call.  I have no fashion sense. let’s start there. Although I have stellar lululemon fashion sense if I do say so myself. maybe I’m not a lost cause. 

I’m guessing I would get arrested for making those calls.  or put away in a crazy home. I like my family.  I’ll keep my mouth shut and figure it all out on my own. somehow, I got in touch with my inner technology savvy ways and fixed my phone. I don’t know how. I don’t care. Back in action. 
 
I had a bunch more nonsense I was going to ramble on about, but I will save that kind of fun for another day.  I’ve been sweating since 10am when I had to sit outside at my little kindergartners end of year concert. precious. and hot. and the sweat hasn’t stopped. I need some fancy electrolytes and rest. and I need to say a big…
 
HELLOOOOO and WELCOME!!!! To all of you skinny runner loving blog readers. 
 
Thank you for stopping in. and leaving nice comments. not nasty ones. that makes me happy. and thank you skinny runner for helping a blogger out.
 
The running blog-star, Skinny Runner, featuring me on her blog is like Christmas for my little baby blog. When she said she was going to put it up, I felt like I had to get my blog ready and prepared – give it a little pep talk to be on its best behavior and look pretty.  that’s a lost cause because I’m still using this free WordPress site and enjoying every minute of it.  we will do our best to make your experience a good one. and maybe eventually make it look pretty.
 
Skinny Runner is a superstar blogger. kinda wanna be her when I group.  except that I think I’m older than her and if I ran as many marathons as she does, I would cut myself off at the hips. I wouldn’t survive. so I live vicariously through her California loving blog and try to soak it up wirelessly cross country. run on.
 
Feel free to email me with anything, anytime, as long as its nice and friendly and appropriate.  suggestions for topics are always welcome. 
 
And that’s all she wrote. settling in with a movie and the hubs. hoping if I stop moving long enough, I will stop sweating. thats the plan. 
 
I know I shouldn’t complain, so what’s the weather like where you are?
 
Do people ever ‘race’ you when you are out on the road?
 
East coast or west coast? 
About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

38 responses »

  1. How did you get back into your phone? That does sound kind of like a nightmare.

    I thought you were going to announce today that I’m the big winner of some running shoes! I’m so disappointed.

  2. Weather has been either hot or humid OR rainy…so loving it really. Especially since I hurt my hip about a month ago and I haven’t run since. These days I am taking classes at my Y…cycle, Body Pump and the like.

    When I was running..jogging..moving faster than a walk..what ever you want to call it …the only thing that probably raced me was a turtle and I won that race baby! 😉

    (by the way…guess I am behind on reading blogs…I just read SR’s a few minutes ago and that’s how I found you..)

  3. It has been SOO hot in Chicago. Ran outside for the few time tonight in a few days. Yuck. I found your blog through skinny runner and I stalked and read all day long 🙂 loved it!

  4. Oh my it was about 95* here in Delaware today and it was brutal!! We had a pool/sprinkler day today.
    I am so competitive that when I run I always try and pass the people in front of me and occasionally they get pissy and try and pass me but I give it right back! haha

  5. oh, we’re back to being 29 again?? hehe.. I know you probably wrote to SR before your bday.. just busting chops.. I have about 5 or 6 blogs I read daily.. yours being one of them.. and you know, I often think.. you are the only one who actually writes long posts.. My theory is that there’s a secret blog organization that meet and talk about ways to get more traffic.. and lots of pics without a ton of words is key.. but you do your own thing.. and it still works.. I never (ok RARELY) skim down your posts without reading.. =)

    • I am forever 29 now;) but, you caught me. I did send my info to her before the big day and did not remember what I wrote. I know, my blogs get kind of wordy:-/ I just start typing and before I know it they are a short novel. Oh well. thanks for reading most of them;-)

  6. so glad to find your blog! i was a fitness addict through high school and some of college and then decided to give myself a break for a few years. trying to get into running but just can’t seem to get over my 4 mile hump! the weather is hot as hades here in mississippi, so i find myself having to run at 6 am before work 😦 it has become addicting! there is another girl that runs my route at the same time in the morning, i race her daily (not sure if she knows that haha)

    • Hi!! Thanks for the comment:) I was a crazy gym goer in my younger years too, and now I could live without it. Its funny how you see the same runners over and over on a certain route. I can’t imagine running in heat like that all the time. I prefer to get my runs done and out of the way early, 6 am would be perfect for me:)

  7. That’s an awesome progression run! I think it’s something I should try out since my pace is usually all over the place during races. I don’t have the feel yet for what my different paces feel like. Do you have any tips on how to start out doing a progression run? (I don’t have a fancy watch that tells me my pace). It’s wicked hot and humid here in NH and I am regretting that I didn’t get up early this morning and run because now I have to run after work and it’s hot. ugh.

    • This is just how I do it, but I would start with whatever your easy run pace is. I know I tend to push the pace a bit, so you should probably feel like you are holding back at first. If you don’t have a gps or pace watch, progression runs can be done and are good training for your ‘perceived effort’. As long as that is getting slightly harder with each mile, you are progressing nicely:) I guess you might not know when you hit a mile though if you don’t have gps, so you could wear a watch and run a certain ‘perceived effort’ for a certain time, like 8 minutes, then increase your effort every 7 or 8 minutes. Hope this helps!

  8. Stopping by to say hi – read about you through SR. Way to go on your progression run – you are freakin fast!!! And your commentary on Mile 4? Love it…love the competitive spirit! Can’t wait to read more of your blog!

  9. Yay, so I did a test progression run today totally inspired by you. I had tired legs and so it was kind of like a recovery run turns progressive, it started out slow, a little slower than recovery and ended kind of fast(for me), I have a lot to learn about pacing myself though cos if I speeded up it seemed too much and if I slowed it was too slow, so I just kept going a little faster and then a little slower till I landed at the right pace, practise will make perfect though and I need to know how different paces feel, plus it felt great to do something new. Thanks for your inspiration!!

    • Yayyyy!!!! They’re pretty fun training runs. I am terrible at pacing, with or without a watch and have to do the same thing – speed up, slow down – but after a few miles I kind of get in the rhythm. That’s the great thing, they give you great pacing practice.

  10. Hey there from the west coast / best coast! 😉
    I’m up in Canada, eh. Love your blog – been reading for a few months now, but it was fun to see you on SR’s blog. I was all like – Hey! I know her!! haha

    Didn’t you promise you’d show us your latest Lulu purchase? I like to live vicariously… I’ve been put on a short leash for awhile. Boo. 😦

    Did you know that Lululemon is having their INAUGURAL Sea Wheeze half marathon this summer? In Vancouver – the home of Lululemon?

    You should come. It’d be like a trip to your homeland, after all! 🙂

    • Ooooh, I did make that promise, didn’t I?!?!;) I WILL put that up, it wasn’t super exciting, just another marathon running skirt:) Believe me, I would LOVE to take a trip to run that marathon – maybe I could get lulu to sponsor my trip;) Thanks for reading!!!

  11. I found you on SR! Looking forward to reading more.

    Man, you’re fast! And I loved in your progression run when you wrote, “I should be a professional runner.” I think that all the time (what a pipe dream, believe me I realize this), but I’m doing 8’s, not 7’s and 6’s. Still, for me, it’s a great improvement over where I was 5-10 years ago, and that makes me really proud! I wish I could run all the time, never get injured, and fit all the other parts of life in too!

    It’s been in the mid 90s here in the Philly area, but I’ve actually been getting up early and getting my workouts in when it’s “only” 80.

    I have definitely had people try to race me. During one long run recently, the GIRLS were racing me more than the guys were! I don’t remember if they ended up passing me again or not, I just remembered thinking it was kinda funny/strange. I also remember during a very small race a couple years ago, a guy wouldn’t let up on me so I just got into a groove and started running shoulder to shoulder with him. A few minutes later, he said, “you can pass me if you want,” and I said, “gee thanks for the permission…I thought you wanted to chat!” and took off. Ha.

TALK TO ME:-)

