Roadtrip

Standard
Workout 

Yesterday, 10 miles, early. no watch, but nailed just about exactly an 8min/mile. perfect. I was tired from life in general, not to mention the 10 hot miles the day before. 11pm bedtimes dont agree with 5am runs.  no more of that.  slow was necessary. so was a 5am start on a Sunday morning. for one, it was already really humid, for two, we had lots of family fun planned for the day. more like lots of time in the car, but if we call it family fun – its more fun. 
I snagged a couple things on the fly when I was at target the other night, put them together and called it an outfit. I want a pair of those shorts in every color.  elastic waist.  not only for pregnant women and toddlers.  heaven.  I think it worked. 
Perfect outfit to wear for sitting in the car for a few hours. and it was just about way too hot to be existing yesterday, so tank and comfy shorts it was. 
We had a birthday party to go to in NJ, which was about a 2.5 hour ride. we were crossing everything that the would be no traffic. on a holiday weekend. it worked. we made it. 
pleasant children = happy parents. no one had to be left on the side of the road. when they are not happy children in the car, the hubs and I just tune out…
that wasn’t this trip, but it’s a lovely solution to unruly children. I think it started out as my hubs trying to tune me out. oh no no. share the love. one free ear to hear the little screaming banchies in the background and one ear to be enjoying some tunes. nice. 
I woke up at 5am and had a moment of what kind of person gets up at 5am on a Sunday morning to run. really. 
It would be the kind of person that knows the importance of starting the day doing something active. the kind of person that knows the day will be a better one for doing that active thing. the kind that knows it will ALWAYS be BRUTAL to get out and get moving that early, but 3 strides into the run is feeling fantastic for being out there.  Sweating.  Moving.  It would also be the kind of person that has early rising kidlings so a true sleep in wouldn’t happen anyway. or, the kind of person that has a busy day ahead and was planning accordingly instead of letting the run get lost in it. It would also be the type with a hubs that planned a 20 mile bike ride for 6:30am – meaning the wife had to get ‘er done before that. I was approximately 1.27 minutes late getting home for my hubs to leave on his bike date – to be noted for scheduling next time. 
All in a day – 10 miles for me, 20 mile bike + 3 mile run for the hubs, feed the little monsters which usually ends up being a restaurant style a la carte affair, wash car, get kids pulled together – my little hot mess, where to begin with him…
and beautify myself only to melt in the heat, drive to NJ to party hardy, thank the good lord that Luke slept for 2.5 of the 3 hour, thanks to traffic, drive back. 
tuck the kids in and crash. and finish off what we didn’t start the night before. 
for a long, full day well done. 
I dont have a clue what is on the agenda for the day. now that marathon training has begun, my schedule is a little turned around. I think today is a rest/cross training day, where that is typically Tuesday for me. throw me out of my routine and I get a little crazy. breathe. take it one moment at a time. pretty sure I am not running today. it will probably just be a strength day. and run tomorrow. who knows.  I’m sure I’ll pull through. 
Who has begun training for a fall marathon?  Who is doing NYC??


About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

8 responses »

  1. I have the magic power (or weakness) to be able to fall asleep in the car if I am in it for over half an hour, this is of course only when I am a passenger. When I was younger I never actually how long it took to get to anywhere far because I would fall asleep and wake up there. My parents used to love it!

    Sounds like you had a good Sunday. 5am is a little to early for me, I’ve been doing 6am mornings though. I love the calmness that early. No marathon training for me, just trying to up my mileage and run faster 5K’s!

  2. I just started training for my first marathon!! I am doing the Hartford Marathon in October. I am terrified and super excited! I haven’t been able to get myself up at 5am, but I did do 6:30 yesterday….it was perfect out.

  3. Oh boy! You lucked out with traffic. We drove through NJ yesterday and didn’t have such luck. That is awesome that you got in the 10 miler before you had to leave. I’ll be at NYC too – only much further behind you 😉

  4. I’m off of my routine as well. On a whim we decided to go out of town this past weekend and its thrown me off completely. Glad you were able to get a run in!

    I can’t decide if I’m running a fall marathon or not. Husband will be off playing Army all of October. Timing wise, this stinks because I can’t done one before he leaves, and if I do one after he gets back, I have to find a sitter/deal with Pacific NW weather, etc. Plus we wanted to run one together, so who knows. I’ll just up my mileage and pretend I’m doing one so I’m at least in shape whenever I decide!

    • Smart move to just train like you are going to run one! I would love to run a marathon with my hubs. We were going to do marine corps, and didn’t realize that it fills up so quick! There will always be marathons to do:)

TALK TO ME:-)

