The Lucky One

Standard
 I may have the voice of a songbird and I’ve been told I carry melodies like an angel, I will not be bursting into any Allison Krause ballads anytime soon. no worries. I will leave that work to my amazingly beautiful and talented Nashville transplanted little sister. but, I am the lucky one. we’ll get to that in a minute. first things first. 
 
 
Workout

Run. 13 miles road + 4 miles treadmill (that can be explained) for 17 miles total, for those of you that can’t do simple math.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
I had to switch it up and do the long run today because I do not have the ability to do it tomorrow. This whole week was kind of upside down in terms of running. I did 2 stroller runs, which is about 2 more than I’d like. then I did my long run today, without properly preparing for it with easier runs beforehand.  17 stroller miles before a long run isn’t really necessary. preceded by a tempo run. more silliness. and bad planning.  It was hard today. I wanted to inject a few (6) marathon pace miles in the middle.  before I get yammering about the psychosis that happened during and after this run, let’s just look at it. Note – 6 injected marathon miles turned into 4. full disclosure – pfitzinger would have had me do 8 marathon pace miles today. I was not in agreement and we settled on 6. because P man and I are tight like that.  6 turned to 4…and the yammering begins…hold that thought, here are the splits
 
 
 
Miles 1-5 warmup

7:35, 7:39, 7:44, 7:29, 7:35
These were hard, to which I over compensated for feeling hard and went too fast for warmup miles.  fail. 
 
 
 
 
Miles 6-9 marathon pace (6:51)

6:49, 6:48, 6:44, 6:47
These were actually not hard. until the 4th. but couldn’t get out of my head that I have to run 26.2 at this pace
 
 
 
Miles 10-13 cooldown, finish the run and get one more speedy marathon mile

7:16,7:51, 7:21, 6:40, 7:53
just let the miles flow as they may, aside from the 6:40, worked on that one. 
 
 
This run took me down.  for a bit.  It was hard from the start. I was discouraged that I didn’t even do the 6 marathon pace miles I was shooting for.  because I was loosing form.  and just being a punk in general.  buh bye 17 miles, hello 13.
 
 
 
There was a little double D party going on during my run.  not on my chest.  Doubt that I have the capability to hit my marathon goal, and discouragement that the paces didn’t come more easily.  that’s annoying. because I’m stronger than that. I have the ability to run well. I’m thankful for my run today and I have a very new outlook on every run. Some are good and some are bad. I am very critical of certain runs that have a purpose. That criticism use to breed negativity. now it’s productive. I know what happened today and it will lead to positive change in training. The old Katie would have pushed harder because this wasn’t a great run. This productive Katie has a pretty good idea of what todays run was about. by the time I got over the fact that my son lost all of his hair while I was running…
 
 
 
Daddy had fun with the hair clippers!!
 
 
and I walked back in my house, doubt was gone, and I was confident in my goals and my abilities to get them. maintain the confidence built from knowing what I can do, and no one gets hurt.  I have the confidence to acheive my goals at my next marathon.  make it happen. and make it happen without stress. this is fun. 
 
 
 
 Some thoughts:

– Lack of sleep is a big one this week. I’m not sleeping well. That greatly impacts my 5am runs.  or any run for that matter. 
 
 
 
– Lack of fueling. I am having a hard time keeping up with the calories required to run these miles.  My mileage is not big big mileage, but big enough for me to see that I need to be more diligent in getting enough food, especially for a run like today and especially if I choose not to fuel during a run.  



Lack of rolling/stretching. gives me tight muscles that make me nervous and anxious on a run that I’m overdoing it and going to injure myself. slight self sabotaging actions. no more. roller is going to make more appearances. 
 
 
 
– Lack of listening to my body. too many miles. I need to cut back on the miles a bit. #1, because I’m getting a little too focused on hitting a certain # of miles a week, regardless of how I’m feeling. How I’m feeling kind of has to be in pretty good balance with the plan, otherwise I will start a sad downward slope into overtraining way too early in the game. overtraining should preferably never be “part of the game”.  avoid at all costs. 
 
 
– Lack of proper timing. doing a strength workout and too many hard miles the days before a long run with marathon pace miles isn’t the best idea for me. but I just got this DVD and I had to try it. twice. and I LOVED it. 
 
 
 
 
 
The one on the top – sorry, my non transformed blog doesn’t know how to make it right – the Dailey method. more on that later. but it left my legs more tired than they already were. not smart. 
 
 
 
Instead of pushing it harder next week because I felt like this weeks runs were unnecessarily hard, I’m taking that as a cue to take it easier for a week. fuel up. rest up. regroup. get faster. get stronger. balance the plan and the feeling.  
 
 
 
The treadmill miles happened because I grew increasingly annoyed that I didn’t finish the run this morning. for no good reason. I am not running at all tomorrow and decided that if I run on Sunday, my pace will not exceed 8:30 min/mile, so I wanted to finish this day strong.  stronger than it started.  4 treadmill miles @ 7:30 pace. watching olympic marathon trials. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
this is rare. running on the treadmill at night. rare as in I don’t think it has ever happened. but it was so enjoyable. this is what I’m usually doing at night…
 
 
 
Laundry/iPad action. crazy wild nights. 
 
 
 
onto an easy week.  
 
 
let’s start the easy week with a little froyo. because we’ve only had it 3x already. I had to show Anna how it’s done properly. she has not had good instruction.  Alex was at camp and Luke was not with us and that’s all that matters. it was just me and my little bam. this is how it’s done. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
chocolate.  no berries. no mango. no sour worms. just chocolate. good stuff. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
little lady and I are sitting there enjoying our froyo and I’m thinking what a rare moment this is. just the two of us. and how lucky I felt at that moment. to be completely, 100% present with my amazingly quirky, fantastic little 4 year old who spouts out the most random little thoughts and requests to listen to her idol, T. Swift, while we sit there chowing down. She doesn’t think twice about singing along why you gotta be so mean while sucking on a gummy worm. she even gave me two of her cherries. I really am lucky. cheesy peasy, but there was no place I would rather be.  
 
 
 
 
except for maybe with the Luke man, requesting, insisting on having hot dogs with syrup. intense craving. 
 
 
 
 
 
are you pregnant, luke?  is there something you aren’t telling me?  This is just strange. 
 
 
 
 
we continued on the super lucky mama spending so much fun time with the kiddos afternoon at the pool. this also might have been considered operation run the kids ragged until their little eyelids can’t stay open and they slumber like little bear cubs tonight.  we’ll find out if this operation worked in the morning. I have one singular picture of the pool experience. because 1 mama, 3 kids, 1 pool and picture taking don’t jive. a number of things could happen – child drowns because mom was taking pictures or phone drowns because mom was taking pictures.  It all points back to me. I don’t need that controversy.  
 
 
 
but I got the muscle shot
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
somehow, the buzz cut hair has most certainly put the crazy in full drive. as if he could get any crazier. 
 
 
 
I think that’s quite enough for one night. now that you have finished reading the memoir of Katie, you can get on with your life and more productive things. like washing your hair.  painting your nails. cleaning out the lint filter.  on with it. no more procrastinating.
 
 
 
ps – notice how the spacing is all crazy?  working on that too – I do most of the posts on the iPad, and they don’t transfer very well. man, the more I blog the more whacky it gets. work in progress. 
 
Stay tuned!!! I have a super terrific giveaway coming up!  There is reward for persevering through and reading these fantastically informative blog posts. 
 
 
 
 


About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

10 responses »

  1. Remember, there is no such thing as too much fro yo. It’s a proven fact. Glad you persevered through and finished out those miles on the treadmill. You went from a DD to a D – Determination.

  2. I can’t wait to hear (read) what you think of The Dailey Method. I haven’t done the dvd, but I’ve taken a couple of classes from Katina (second woman on the cover) and those classes KICKED my butt! Even with my 12 years of serious ballet training! I’ll feel like such a wimp if you’re breezing through 😉

  3. Sounds like your run was productive, even if it wasn’t productive in the way that you intended it to be. You learned some things during your run, and next time you’ll be better prepared.

    Little boys with shaved heads are just the cutest! My sister shaves my nephews head (he’s 4) and it is the CUTEST THING EVER!!!! His little ears stick out so much, oh man… so cute!

    • It was a very productive run, and even a good pace – a lot of times now for me it’s more reigning in the mental battle that comes with trying a harder run. those marathons are more mentally tough than anything!
      We’ve been saying we were going to shave his head for awhile – so cute! And his ears stick out too!
      Thanks for commenting! Have a great weekend:)

  4. Sounds like the run was a little bit of a mental battle but you made it through! I’m interested in the first DVD because it looks like their in a dancer-esque pose and the former dancer in me gets excited about workouts like that, can’t wait for your review. I really wish we had froyo places here…clearly the craze has not caught on. So sad. At least I can buy it in the store 🙂

  5. your blog posts always seem slightly out of whack to me.. sometimes repeats mixed in with new ones.. I’ve been reading for probably 6 months.. if not more.. and just yesterday I realized the web addy in my favorites was “msfitrunner.com/page 2” durr..

  6. So that’s really your sister? Goodwill finds? ‘Cause I think she’s my sister. I realized today that my super-cute outfit of floral button-down (ralph lauren) tucked in to dark jeans (Seven for all mankind) with awesome ankle boots (leather) was ALL from half-price Wednesdays at the Salvation Army…total cost maybe $12 definitely under $15. Ha.
    Those are strong miles. You’re a beast runner. You will eat this next marathon for lunch. Oh and did one single Musha run before my doc clipped my wings again but was very pleasantly surprised! I expected a lot of fit issues and a clunky feel but I didn’t even notice them. That’s a good thing in my book! Thanks for the recommendation!

TALK TO ME:-)

