Blogs and Babies

Standard
Workout 

Saturday – rest day. whoa. I can not remember the last time Saturday was a rest day. probably about 2 years ago.  that sounds right.  It seems to go against the laws of the universe and running to not run on the god-given day of long runs. but, I did rebel. I did the long run on Friday and didn’t think twice about not lifting a finger all day saturday. except to chase around my monkeys. sometimes a little rearranging of the schedule is all it takes to get the runs in.  good training in being flexible. which I am not always good at. I’ve been known to be called rigid.  I’m ok with that. mostly because I got my 50 miles on for the week.
The hubs was doing a long training run/hike in the white mountains. Pretty sure he did a trail up and around mount Washington. But, I can’t be certain. I do listen intently to the details of his training, as he does with my mile splits, speed work sessions and my all around crazy daily shenanigans – but the specifics he gives doesn’t really stick. All I know is it was one of the toughest trails in New England, something like 8,000 feet in elevation gain.  Naturally, he had to do it.
And he wants to take me there next weekend to do it again.  that’s love.  what a romantic he is. who needs a nice dinner and perhaps a relaxing night away in a little beach town when you can go hike 24 miles in “the whites”. I’m in. my kind of hot date. now about those kids…any takers?
Sunday – recovery run, from Friday, 10 miles, easy.  8:18 pace.
Funny thing, those easy miles. Once you get into them, it’s amazing how the “easy” pace doesn’t always feel so easy.  I felt like I was working such different muscles running that pace, that my legs were actually really tired. and I just wanted to get the run done. but there is a very definite purpose for the easy pace runs. that’s what forces me to slow down and do them.

Monday – prescribed rest/xtrain day. yet, I attempted to run with Luke this morning, and a couple things happened:

– my right hammy/glute got angry and tight. fine.
– I saw a friend out on the road who was power walking. the power walk and chit chat replaced the run I wasn’t supposed to be doing.
4 miles run/walk. 30 minutes stair master. 20 minutes The Dailey Method DVD.  hammies were over the moon excited about this decision. not only was it a great, quick strength session, it gave me a great stretch as well. win win win win. all around.
I finally pulled myself together today, took a shower and got all dressed up. just in time to pickup my little camper and start making dinner.
It is a glamorous life. that requires a glamorous wardrobe.
What a weekend we had over here in my little wonderworld. Hiking, swimming, babies, running, church picnics, blog meltdowns.  Non stop action. as usual.  This pretty accurately portrays the condition of the fam by last night:
movie time.  done. tired. time to end the day. and start another one at 4:45am.
Babies!!!!

I’m an auntie. My baby sister had a baby.
Sebastian Carter. cutest little baby ever. or in the past 2.5 years since Luke was born. but Luke actually wasn’t very cute right after birth. this little person, however, is heart melting adorable.
and as bummed as I was that they kicked us out as soon as I got there with my girls, it’s probably a good thing. otherwise I might have gotten a huge, gnarly, infectious bite from the baby bug. something about babies still at the hospital that makes me want to have like 12 more. I don’t know why. after I had my kids I was ready to register for nursing school and head directly to the labor and delivery department at the closest hospital.  and pay them to let me work there. I loved it. so we left before I could touch the little bugger – because they didn’t want non sibling children around the little newbies. kind of understandable, but near impossible to explain to a 4 and 5 year old who have been through the roof excited to see their new cousin. such is life. we will smother that baby plenty this week.  and we will wear infectious disease safety gear to ensure his health and well being.
Blog Meltdowns!!!!

So exciting. I’m switching to self hosted. in my amateur, computer and technology lacking mind, this was going to be a quick and simple hop, skip and a jump to the new blog. oh no no. more like hop, skip, jump, climb a mountain, through a forest, swim the English channel, make lots of friends at hostgator – thank you Thomas R. for chatting with me for 2 hours on a Saturday night. splendid.  all while praying that when I get to the destination, the new host likes me and and my guests stay for the ride. please stay. because all I’ve managed to do thus far is change nothing but get rid of all of my subscribers. and waste a lot of my precious hours.  delightful.  the site will be just www.msfitrunner.com.  That’s what I’m told anyway.
If I follow directions properly and my stuff propagates nicely, things should be switching as we speak. or as you read.  Propagating will be underway. fun word.  Little technology tidbit I picked up along the way.  I hate it when my stuff fails to propogate. first rate problems. but in the switch, a number of things could happen, including, but not exclusive to world war III breaking out. it’s a waiting game. other things that could happen while propagation is occurring, is the blog will be unaccessible. again. And I’m just here to tell you, that you will be ok. if I can make it through this difficult time, you can too.  or, you may see a completely unfamiliar site.  lacking a lot of features. unlike my super high tech current site. truth is, I don’t know what will happen. but be patient with me because when I have it switched over, I will have a super sweet giveaway for you!!!  Hopefully by thursday or friday.  It might have something to do with the workout DVD I did earlier today. the one that every runner should do.
Ok. here goes nothing. propogation begins.  I hope I can find my blog tomorrow. wish me luck. it’s going to be a little search and rescue mission on the world wide web.
Does your longer run happen on a day other than Saturday?

Tell me about the weekend in running?  In relaxing?  And I probably won’t reply because I can’t, but I will be reading, excited and happy about it.

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

One response »

TALK TO ME:-)