My Treadmill is better than your treadmill

Standard

Workout – Treadmill 9 miles, 7:20 pace

I got my first official marathon training run in today!  Party for Katie.  I think I’m going to like this training plan thing.  day 1 and I’m sold.  if you’ve never done a training plan, definitely check out smartcoach.  Anyway, I  had to do the first three miles and than stop for 15 minutes to get my daughter ready for her carpool ride to school, than I jumped back on for 6.  I realize that ideally you are supposed to run the whole distance at once.  but I don’t live in an ideal world.  ideally I would have a live in nanny to clean my house and take the kids to school.  or better yet, she could run for me.     

Either way, I got it done.  on the treadmill.  in my basement furnace (I think it was only 84 degress down there today)  staring at this.  for one hour.  and 6 minutes.  do you see something missing in that corner?

lonely little corner wishing for a TV

Yes, a TV!!!  No TV in the basement.  We tend to move rooms around in the house.  Sometimes this is the playroom, sometimes the workout room.  right now it’s sort of an elective catch all room that is missing a TV.  the only entertainment I get is this.

their alter ego's today were Hannah Montana and Myley Cyrus. aren't I lucky I get that kind of entertainment. for free. sometimes they are taylor swift. a little better.

 

So I am probably one of the most easy going, people pleasing, don’t cause problems type of person you will ever meet.  with that, I am also fiercly competetive.  with running.  don’t know where that little streak came from, but it’s there.  so, naturally I have probably one of the nicest, high tech treadmills around so that I can get the best training at home.  I don’t even think you can find this baby anywhere in stores. 

look at that pretty little thing. simple and understated.

Ok, maybe I exaggerated a little bit.  don’t think it gets more basic than this my friends.  probably comparable to a giant hamster wheel as far as its technology goes.  but it gets the job done.  Notice it has a sliding switch to set the pace.  the speed setting go something like “slow”, “fast”, “faster”, “fastest”.  If I breathe on it wrong the pace increases or decreases by .5mph.  Then the incline button is just up or down, depending on how long you hold your finger there.  Who really needs to know the exact pace they are running or have any idea what incline you are on on.  not me.  this treadmill was free.  on loan from my sister in law.  free is good.  don’t really care what it does as long as the belt moves when I plug it in.  The pace according to the program was supposed to be 7:36 min/miles.  really?  do we have to get that specific?  7:20 will have to do on my prehistoric treadmill.  can’t dial it in that much with my sliding speed adjuster!

That concludes day 1 of training, and I’m pretty darn proud of myself for going from planning on doing nothing but resting all day, eating chocolates and watching soaps to running 9 miles.  

And I will leave you with this – my little green goblin, loving on his little pacifier.  think of me at 4:30 am, in your dreams, peacefully slumbering, because I will be up.  entertaining my little monster.       

About msfitrunner

I am a 29 year old stay at home, hardworking mom to my three little loves! My oldest little darling is 5, little sis is 4 and baby brother is almost 2. I have been married to my Mr. Wonderful for almost 7 years (ahhh!). My faith and my family is my rock, and I have a newfound LOVE for running. Maybe it's more of a necessity at this point - to maintain household peace and my own sanity, but whatever it is, it's working for me and I'm loving the racing. The vegan world has been calling my name, so I am testing out those waters as well! That's a tough one with three little picky eaters at home, but I am having fun coming up with new recipes and trying out new things. Follow along as I chronicle this crazy running life, and ALL the craziness that goes with it!

12 responses »

  1. Hahaha. That’s hilarious. And I complain about our gym’s treadmills. They just kinda suck. And there’s only a few channels on the tvs – sports & news. But I got it good! That’s exciting to get your first training run in. Which marathon are you doing? I’m kinda like that – letting all my competitiveness out in running. Otherwise super nice. Lol.

    • I will never complain about a treadmill or tv, if there is one in front of me! I’ve gotten really good at reading the subtitles while I run at the gym, that’s all they have. very talented;-) I’m doing the gansett marathon in RI mid-april!

  2. Awesome job on the run!

    I just got a new treadmill for Christmas but my other one’s incline wouldn’t work. So I was always stuck at the same incline. I did ask my husband to put a board under the front of the treadmill so I would at least have a little incline!

    • Oooh! So jealous about the treadmill! I think RW had a thing on treadmills recently and I found myself drooling trying to figure out how to con my husband into getting me one:) maybe next Christmas for me. I’ll work with what I’ve got until then!

  3. Ok so I’m kinda obsessed now…keep the posts coming. Found your blog this morning (one you posted it on FB) and by 6:20 I’ve caught up on each and every post! Love it. I’m home with 3 kids, too – trying to maintain some sort of fitness and enough running to still call myself a runner. How you do all of this, look amazing, and retain your sense of humor is an inspiration!

    • Hi Jeannie! Thank you for reading and commenting!!! I really try to get a post up a day, it’s fun to write and kind of a creative outlet for me. I am the LEAST creative person you will ever meet! have a great day!!
      ~Katie

  4. Yay for the plan!! it looks great! and your treadmill run sounds awesome! I know some people who run 5-miles in the morning before work, then 5-miles after work and consider it a 10-miler? I haven’t tried it before so I can’t give my 2-cents…but I definitely don’t think 15-minutes is long enough to consider you breaking it into two. I am excited for you and your plan!
    xoxo!

    • I know of people that do that too, and I will probably end up having to split up runs like that – which is hard for me, because I don’t consider that a 10 mile run as far as training purposes. That seems to me like 2, 5 mile runs. But, you do what you have to do! the 15 minute break yesterday was great, not too long to get out of the groove!

  5. Pingback: Are you having a baby? « msfitrunner

  6. Pingback: Good busy day, running and shopping « msfitrunner

  7. Pingback: Coffee love and a dinner « msfitrunner

  8. Pingback: Whirlwind, cont. and Mind Power « msfitrunner

TALK TO ME:-)